Kathy's Italian Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
this reminds me of our ital. family recipe for easter cookies we make some like this and some with anise extact we color the glaze w/food coloring this is the thing that brings back memories for me thank you love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I have a similar recipe that uses anise instead. I even put a little anise in the frosting. I do not use ornage juice. You can use vanilla instead of anise if you like. Time consuming to make ane sticky too, but well worth it. My family looks forward to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
My mom made these cookies and always put chopped maraschino cherries in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Anderson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
this dough was so sticky, it was almost impossible to work with. not worth it in my opinion. the cookies tasted OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neener

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
werent bad but i couldnt taste any orange even with adding extra otherwise a really good cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These ARE the best! They are a staple on our Christmas table every year. My Aunt passed this down from her family in Italy to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
i have searched so long for these cookies. my motherinlaw died about 5 years ago and never got the recipe. it broke my daughers heart. yesterday i told her jeannine i think i found a recipe for nanas cookies and we both made them. as we were making them she said a prayer to her nana and said please nana help us with this. well when the cookies were done and we tasted them they tasted exactly like her cookies. my daugher started to cry and said mom i am so happy we found them. i have to thank u so much for this dream come true. my husband also said my god they taste just like moms cookies. i have to say thank you thank you for helping us with this. love jeannine and mary ellen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
These were excellent. Very moist and rich. I didn't have any orange juice on hand so I did without (I used milk to make glaze). I had a similar recipe years ago (that called for anise extract) and was happy to find this one! Since I didn't have any anise extract on hand, my daughter suggested using pepperment extract and they came out delicious! Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is the recipe I have been looking for! My neighbor makes this cookie and wouldn't share her recipe..family recipe she said. This recipe is better than hers! I substituted almond flavoring for the vanilla and orange juice and then used almond flavoring in the glaze, made different colors of the glaze. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I rarely give any recipe 5 stars because I'm always trying to please 3 other picky family members, however my family LOVED these cookies. My son practically at a dozen by himself before I could get them to a cookie tray for Christmas eve. I sprinkled with red sugars. Will definately have these on my cookie trays from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States