Kathy's French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gidgette
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very nice taste, and it rose up and achieved a nice puffy result. However, the cream cheese did not add anything at all to it, so I would totally eliminate it next time. The cream cheese chunks did not melt, just remained exactly where you placed them before baking, browned on top, and actually did not have much taste. The end result looked like toasted marshmallows on top. For someone like me who does not make French Toast but likes it a lot, this was a good recipe and one I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
THis was delicious!!! So easy because you can make it the night before!! I made sure that the whole bottom of the pan was evenly covered with bread, which means I added more than in the recipe. I then cubed the cream chees put that on top of the first layer of bread and then filled in all the rest of the pan with more bread so it was an even layer across. I added probably a cup of maple syrup instead and two teaspoons of cinnamon. It tasted as good as it smelled while it was cooking. Heated up some real maple syrup and drizzled on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Fantastic and easy to make. I didn't have french bread at home, so I used regular white bread. Also, I softened the cream cheese and spread it on the bread and then cut it into pieces before placing it in the casserole dish. My kids love maple syrup, so I added 1 cup with 1 cup of milk with 6 eggs with 1 tbsp cinnamon in my 9 x 9 pan. Very moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
So tasty and easy to make. I omitted the cream cheese for calorie reduction as per another review and increased the maple syrup slightly. In the morning I did gently fold it over to incorporate some bread pieces that did not appear coated with egg. It was so simple for a gathering. I put into an 11x13 pan and it fed 8 people as part of larger brunch with ham and fruit and I have leftovers. Look forward to a test of reheating it for breakfast another day! I will make this again. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This was such an easy recipe to make! I took this to a brunch school function and received multiple compliments. There was nothing left in the pan when I left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I really liked this recipe a lot, but I must admit that I didn't follow all of the rules! I needed to make something quick and yummy for a faculty breakfast and I needed to make it the night before. I used a whole loaf of French baguette (16 oz.) and as I was chopping up the cream cheese, I thought it was a bit much. I ended up using just one 8 oz. package of the cream cheese and it turned out great. I also had to put it in the oven after only about 30 minutes of refrigeration with the egg, and it still turned out great. I also added a can of drained blueberries to the top for a little something extra. I got lots of compliments on this recipe and brought back an empty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I cut this recipe in half to fit a square 8x8 baking pan. I did add a teaspoon of pure vanilla extract and a half teaspoon nutmeg to the egg mixture. I also used REAL maple syrup. This was okay--quite soggy, maybe because it doesn't halve well? The only one who liked it was my seven year old and he asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
To turn this recipe from 4 stars to 5 stars I made a couple of changes: Mix the cream cheese with some sugar and cinnamon to taste and blend it by hand or with a mixer. Spread the mixture on the bread you're using (I used cinnamon-raisin bread) stack the "frosted" bread 3 high, then cube it. I also used real maple syrup. It is so much better this way as there is cream cheese in every bite and it is sweetened. 1/2 cup syrup just was not enough sweetness for this big batch, IMHO. I tried it the original way and I prefer it the sweeter way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving brunch and it was perfect! I did not use the cream cheese, just a personal preference. I also used sugar free syrup, which I increased to 3/4 cup. I am planning to make it again for Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This breakfast is a tradition in my family every christmas morning. I followed other suggestions and coated the bread with the cream cheese which kept out the huge chunks of cream cheese. I also accidentally halved the whole recipe without halving the amount of bread. My husband (who did not grow up with fond memories of this meal) said it was the best he had had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States