Kathy's Easy Chile Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was pretty good for using just what you have on hand, however it needed either an extra can of cream of chicken or sour cream to make it more saucy. It was a little dry. I will try it again sometime with the changes and then it should be a good fall-back recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASEYNJASON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Very good. Easy to whip together. Followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Yummy - but I felt it needed an extra 20 minutes of cooking to make the rice done. At one hour the rice was still hard. Tasted great after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLTOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I made this recipe with some modifications based on reviews and just what I thought would be best. I made 2 cups of my own sauce instead of the chicken soup (bring 1 cup chicken broth and half a cup milk to a boil. Stir 6 tablespoons flour into half a cup milk then whisk it into the pot. Cook a minute or so. Ta da!). I was afraid the rice would be too dry which is why I made extra sauce. I also used corn instead of peas and mixed it in at the beginning, and added half a packet of taco seasoning. I baked it according to the directions and it came out quite well! I can't imagine how dry it would be with only one can of soup and even with the taco seasoning it was very, very mild, so next time I'm going to use the whole packet. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Yummy! I added a extra can of cream of mushroom soup. One and half cans of diced green chilis. One package of chicken fajita seasoning. LOTS of Cheddar cheese on top and inside. Actually cooked it for almost 2 hours stirring every 10-15 min. My husband cant get enough. VERY DELICIOUS and EASY, taste even better as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was tasty with a few changes… I cooked the rice ahead of time in chicken broth. Doing this, there was plenty of liquid with 1 can of soup and 1 c milk. I cooked the chicken over medium heat in a skillet until the juices ran clear then cut into small bite size pieces. I substituted frozen corn for the peas (peas didn't make sense to me in this dish). I only added 1/2 of the green chile and added a can of black beans, rinsed and drained well. Upon others suggestions, I added about 1/2 package of taco seasoning mix. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
We had this for dinner last night and it turned out really good. We did take the advice of a couple other reviewers and used corn instead of peas, added a whole packet of "mild" taco seasoning mix, and added an additional can of cream of chicken soup, but used only 1 can full of milk. It was filling, yummy, and easy to make. In fact, my 12-year-old is the one who made it! I think I want to try this as a burrito filling next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is really good, easy week-night recipe. I made it as-written and experienced the same "dryness" as the first reviewer, but my family didn't mind it at all. I baked it longer than directed, though, based on the feedback of another reviewer and that may have contributed, so next time I'm going to bake as directed and let it stand 10 minutes. Standing time often makes a big difference with casseroles. I'll also try adding a bit more milk, maybe just a half a cup and see how that works. It really doesn't need much. The flavor is very, very good and it makes wonderful leftovers. Personally, I wouldn't cook the rice in advance because I think it result in too much liquid, but if any of you experiment with good results please post them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I love a casserole that's quick and easy, uses things already in the pantry and is tasty. This is definetely it! I added only an extra 1/4 cup of milk and the rice cooked up fully. I'll definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I took Shiloh's advice and made a broth/milk/flour sauce instead of the soup. I also used brown rice instead of white rice to up the nutritional value. I had to cook it about 1 1/2 hours (covered) and the rice was still a bit under done. Next time I will add more broth and plan for added cooking time. I will be making it again. My husband and I enjoyed it and look forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States