Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This literally fell off the bones! It was delicious! I did a 5lb chicken and, on low heat, it was done after 6 hours (may be my slow cooker?). I used half the olive oil it called for and realized I was out of worcestershire sauce so I added a little extra chicken broth to make up for those two things. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I loved this recipe and so did my husband. I skinned a 5# fresh, whole organic chicken, except for the wings and placed it in a cup of clear chicken broth, breast down into the crock pot. Put a whole quartered large onion and large halfed garlic clove inside the cavity. I did double the broth recipe except for the olive oil and poured this over the chicken, added some baby carrots and cooked it on high for 5 hours. The broth of this recipe is amazing and we will probably get a couple of more meals from it! I would recommend this recipe for a dinner party too.(Always nice to have time to pick up while the main course is cooking) I served with sauteed green beans and portabella mushrooms as the veggie. Also steamed jasmine rice. Yummy :) Soup Fiend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Great chicken. I used bone-in skinned chicken thighs and followed recipe exactly except I used 1/2 cup of honey, which cut the acidity and it was perfect. Sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds and served over rice with pork egg rolls. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wingslady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
The sauce was delish. I have a large slow cooker so I split the chicken down the backbone and flattened it so that all parts would touch the liquid. The chicken was fall apart tender. Let it cool slightly in the liquid before serving and the meat absorbs it and becomes very moist. Next time I would reduce the cooking time doing this technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, and it smelled great while cooking. The end result, though, wasn't very impressive. The breast was dry (cooked breast down) and the flavor was just okay. Would def not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
We just thought this recipe was so-so. Tender chicken, yes, but not all that flavorful. Needed pepper, as others have said, or maybe fresh ginger. I love Asian flavors, so I thought I would like this recipe more. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
this was delicious! my only changes were that i did not add any olive oil or the chicken broth and also added carrots and potatoes to the bottom of the crockpot. other than those changes i followed the recipe exact. i cooked the chicken (4.5 lbs) for 5 hours on low. my family enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
most amazing chicken I've ever eaten in my life. I went to this womans recipe box to see what other things she recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe that I use often. Great flavors and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made this recipe and it is so easy to prepare. The chicken was tasted great. I made a few changes that some of the other reviewers suggested. I used 1 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 cup chicken broth, and 1/4 cup olive oil. I reserved 1 cup of the mixture and put the rest into the slow cooker. Added the chicken and turned to coat and placed the breast side down in the slow cooker. I poured the remaining mixture over the chicken. I will make this recipe again soon. I think this mixture could be used as a marinate for chicken breast. Put the mixture into a zip-lock bag and add the chicken breast. Marinate over night. Then grill or bake the chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States