Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I had a whole chicken that needed cooking on a 110 degree day and even though I had my doubts initially as to putting it in the crockpot, the idea of not having to turn on the oven really appealed to me so I took a chance. This turned out so amazingly tender, juicy and flavorful, just the two of us gobbled it down in no time at all. Served with rice pilaf and steamed broccoli. This is a recipe we will definitely be having again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Great flavor and a perfect meal when it is too hot to bake in the oven. I'll make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
made this for dinner tonight but wasn't impressed. 8 hours seemed to be too long. Parts of the chicken were dry. 2 Stars for ease of making it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I had a 5.5 lb whole chicken, so this is what I used. I doubled the sauce. The flavor was fantastic. This recipe is definitely a keeper for us. For our family (not that this was a bad recipe,) I would make this again, but I'd try 6 chicken breast halves instead. Reason- we didn't like all the bones and other 'stuff' in this dish. Would love to know if anyone has altered this recipe for anything other than a whole chicken, including other kinds of meat... anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoldenCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
It's been way too hot to use the oven lately, so I've been making different slow cooker recipe for the past few weeks. This recipe turned out quite well! I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I would definitely marinate the chicken overnight, because the leftover chicken tasted more flavourful the next day. The problem is with slow cooker chicken recipes, is that they don't get crispy and caramalized like they do when when roasted in the oven. The meat is definitely moist and tender though. I would definitely try this again in the oven, when it isn't so hot out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
My husband loved this I thought it was so so, the liquid was a little too much but I managed to make a gravey out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Delicious, the best chicken ever! Great, easy, and very tasty recipe! I made only slight modifications; I added 1 tsp chicken seasonings and fresh rosemary. Red wine vinegar instead of balsamic and no sezame oil. I cooked it 8h on low. The whole house smells great and meat falls off the bones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Just ok, meat fell off of bones well. No kind of edible sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I was really excited about making this, and I followed the recipe exactly, but it just didn't turn out well. It was overly greasy, overcooked and bland. The blandness really surprised me, given all of the flavorful ingredients. Something is definitely missing. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERHIPCRYSTAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This is the best chicken I have ever had - cooked it in a 350 deg. oven for 4 hrs. in a cast iron pot with lid but it didn't need that long. The sauce was delicious and thick - served it over rice. Good enough for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 545) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States