Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Amazing! I had a 5lb chicken, I didn't take the skin off, I did only 1Tbs of oil and 2 cups of chicken broth, everything else I doubled. The gravy from the broth was wonderful on boiled potatoes and carrots and the chicken itself was perfect. I will be making this often. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe a couple months ago after receiving my first slow cooker. My husband really enjoyed it and asks me to make it quite often. I have a hard time trying to describe the taste of it but it comes out so tender and flavorful. I serve it with white rice which absorbs the sauce nicely. I have even made this chicken without some of the ingredients like the lemon juice and chicken broth (didn't have them on hand) or using garlic powder rather than minced and it still turns out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I must have done something wrong because my bird was destroyed after 8 hours in the pot. The meat was dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
The chicken was dry and bland while I really liked the sauce. May try it again without skinning the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Following the advice of others, I only threw in a splash of olive oil. I also double the rest of the liquid because I'm typically serving a bigger family and thus cook a larger chicken. Because of this, we usually need the full eight hours on low, but if cooking a smaller bird it would probably be less as others have mentioned. This recipe is easily amended to taste. For ours, we stuff the cavity with a quartered onion and garlic cloves. Sometimes we want more of a citrus flavour and throw in a whole lemon or orange, sliced. Other times we like something more spicy and kick it up with some hot peppers and ginger root. Either way, it's amazing when served with broccoli, garlic, onions, carrots, and water chestnuts. Thanks, Kathy, for sharing this recipe. What a treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Japheth

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Very good! I used a 5 pound chicken, but placed it in slow cooker breast side down so it was immersed in the liquid the whole time. Excellent! Next time, I will take time to reduce and thicken sauce with cornstarch to make a thicker gravy. Served with sticky white rice, everyone licked the bowl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This is a keeper. I did change a few things.I took the others advice and even though I doubled the ingredients because I had a 6lb chicken I only added 1/4cup of olive oil and a tsp of sesame oil. I cooked this for 5 hours on high and this was a little to much the chicken came out a little dry but I liked the flavor of the marinade so I reduced it on the stove to about half then added just enough cornstarch to where it wasn't runny and spread that over the chicken. This really brought out the flavors it was the easiest way I have ever cooked a whole chicken it just fell off the bone. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Outstanding. Tastes great, and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Not a big fan of this recipe. It was kind of bland, and the chicken was dry, even tho it was swimming in liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and found it not to be as flavorful as the other reviews. Also it was on the dry side, perhaps because the skin was removed. I'll stick to roasting a chicken in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 545) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States