Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly. Tasted it an hour before done and thought it was a little bland. I shredded it, cooked it in the juice a bit longer. I served it as a sandwich with au juice like a French dip. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I tried something different with this recipe and wow was it a hit..! I happened to come on about ten sets of chicken drumsticks and thighs and did not know quite what I was going to do with them. I had been saving this recipe and thought why not try this in the slow cooker with all these chicken pieces. I prepared all the pieces just as instructed for the original whole chicken recipe, and made quite a bit of extra sauce. I cooked the chicken pieces for about 7 to 7 1/2 hours, by which time the meat was falling off the bone. Then I shredded all that chicken meat and saved it for chicken tacos, or fajitas or to put over rice. I have several bags in my freezer to use as needed. The flavor is absolutely magnificent. My husband and I just love it. It was a bit difficult to pick the chicken out of all those bones, but it was so tender that it did not really take very long. I will definitely use this recipe on a whole chicken as written originally, and will also use this sauce on other items as well. It sounds as if it would work well on pork too. Thanks so much to Kathy for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grannywils

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pecos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletochef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I thought this recipe tasted exactly like VH® Garlic Rib Cooking Sauce. I omitted the oil and used maple syrup instead of honey. I also coarsly chopped a sweet onion and placed the chicken on top. The sauce is delicious but I don't think it should be done with a whole chicken. I think it would be best with skinless boneless chicken thighs. The meat would really absord the sauce in that case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
the flavor of the chicken was really tasty,, next time i may scoop some of the liquid out, put it in a saucepan and make a thicker gravy with it, i think shortening the time to possibly six hours may help the texture of the chicken but that is usually what happens with chicken in the crock pot,, flavorwise though this was really really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
It was very good. change a few things used 1 cup of broth cut down the olive oil to 1 tablespoon, used two tespoond of soy sauce and half cup of honey 2 teaspoons worchestershire sauce and add more garlic to famiy's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
My wonderful husband surprised me by making this recipe yesterday. It was tender, juicy, flavorful and it was so easy he promised to make it again soon! Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made this last night and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILLERSQUARED

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
We cooked the chicken for only 7 hours and it was so overcooked it was hard to eat. The spices were okay, DH loved it but I wasn't a big fan. I think it was missing something but can't put my finger on what. If we make it again we won't let it cook more than 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I actually had this in my slow cooker but somehow it came unplugged...hmmm....clumsy husband? In any case when I walked in the door after work I knew something was wrong when I smelled nothing delicious in the air. That's when I discovered the unplugged slow cooker. In a frenzy and a panic at 5:15 in the evening (I had set the slow cooker keep going until 6) I threw everything into my pressure cooker. And man oh man alive! Did it turn out GREAT! AND it was still ready at 6 !!!! I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone, slow cooker OR pressure cooker! DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States