Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Delicious, the best chicken ever! Great, easy, and very tasty recipe! I made only slight modifications; I added 1 tsp chicken seasonings and fresh rosemary. Red wine vinegar instead of balsamic and no sezame oil. I cooked it 8h on low. The whole house smells great and meat falls off the bones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Just ok, meat fell off of bones well. No kind of edible sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I was really excited about making this, and I followed the recipe exactly, but it just didn't turn out well. It was overly greasy, overcooked and bland. The blandness really surprised me, given all of the flavorful ingredients. Something is definitely missing. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERHIPCRYSTAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This is the best chicken I have ever had - cooked it in a 350 deg. oven for 4 hrs. in a cast iron pot with lid but it didn't need that long. The sauce was delicious and thick - served it over rice. Good enough for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This recipe is incredible and for sure a keeper! Makes 6 servings, but I'm bummed I can't eat it all myself! The only thing I did differently, was I added the whole can of chicken broths which was 2 cups because I wouldn't have used up the broth with any other recipes, then I upped the other ingredients also to compensate. The chicken is so tender and the sauce so tasty- it will make an excellent gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This literally fell off the bones! It was delicious! I did a 5lb chicken and, on low heat, it was done after 6 hours (may be my slow cooker?). I used half the olive oil it called for and realized I was out of worcestershire sauce so I added a little extra chicken broth to make up for those two things. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I loved this recipe and so did my husband. I skinned a 5# fresh, whole organic chicken, except for the wings and placed it in a cup of clear chicken broth, breast down into the crock pot. Put a whole quartered large onion and large halfed garlic clove inside the cavity. I did double the broth recipe except for the olive oil and poured this over the chicken, added some baby carrots and cooked it on high for 5 hours. The broth of this recipe is amazing and we will probably get a couple of more meals from it! I would recommend this recipe for a dinner party too.(Always nice to have time to pick up while the main course is cooking) I served with sauteed green beans and portabella mushrooms as the veggie. Also steamed jasmine rice. Yummy :) Soup Fiend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Great chicken. I used bone-in skinned chicken thighs and followed recipe exactly except I used 1/2 cup of honey, which cut the acidity and it was perfect. Sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds and served over rice with pork egg rolls. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wingslady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
The sauce was delish. I have a large slow cooker so I split the chicken down the backbone and flattened it so that all parts would touch the liquid. The chicken was fall apart tender. Let it cool slightly in the liquid before serving and the meat absorbs it and becomes very moist. Next time I would reduce the cooking time doing this technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States