Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Wonderful flavor, the whole family loved it. The chicken just fell off the bone and nice and moist. I did double the sauce and served over brown rice with shitaki mushrooms and asparagus as the side. I also served small slices of ciabatta bread to lap up the delicious sauce. I didn't bother mixing the sauce in a bowl I just mixed in the crock pot and then added the chicken and turned the chicken several times before and during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I normally wouldn't bother writing a review, but the fact that this recipe has such high ratings overall, combined with the fact that I just simply could not salvage it, makes me feel the need to review it. I followed the recipe, with the exception of the lemon juice, because when I was picking up the ingredients I forgot to get that. When I came in that evening, the apartment smelled good, although the soy sauce scent was somewhat overwhelming. I thought, with as strongly as it smelled, surely the dish would be flavorful. However, it was completely bland and dry. I tried fixing it by adding in flavors similar to the original recipe, but everything I tried just made it taste worse. Not to mention mixing in the seasonings made the chicken fall into a million pieces, and because of the soy sauce, every part, meat and bone alike, were the exact same color and nearly impossible to tell apart without biting into chicken vertebrae. Not remotely appetizing. Needless to say, I won't be making it again, and I hope maybe I can save someone else the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simon Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Excellent flavor but mine turned out a bit dry too after 3.5 hours on low in the slow cooker. Does it get more moist if you leave it all day as the recipe suggests?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Yummy with rice and or pita bread !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Easy yet delicious! What else can you ask for in a slow cooker recipe? I left the skin on my chicken and left out the olive oil. It came out so tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Awesome! A must try. My son called it "heaven" and overall hates chicken. Might consider thickening the sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Rosier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was exactly the type of recipe I was looking for to make a whole chicken in the slow cooker! It was sooooo delicious! My husband couldn't stop praising it and has generously given me permission to make it every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Trid this out the other day, and LOVED IT!! Read reviews, and opted to use less olive oil (the evoo I used was a carmalized garlic infused oil), increased the sesame oil (for taste), used lime juice rather than lemon (it was all I had), and used a chicken fresh from the hutterite colony that sells produce/meat at local farmers market. Stuffed the cavity with a bunch of quartered onion also. Absolutely divine!! Meat was fall apart/off the bone at 7hrs, so turned off crockpot and left lid on for last 30mins. Paired with corn and jasmine rice, and mixed drippings with cornstarch to make a delectable gravy. Eating on second day was almost better than the first! Will make again, no question!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Costa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This recipe is excellent!!! My nephews,who are picky eaters, loved it and wanted me to cook this again! I cooked it on high and it was tender and juicy in 4 hours. I definitely will be cooking again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aisia snow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
we raise our own meat chickens, I took a chance on this recipe, we thought it was way over rated, was very dis-appointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States