Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
The sauce was wonderful, but I cooked mine on high, and it turned out very dry. I'll try it again on low. I have high hopes for this chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I was glad to find a recipe for a whole chicken in the crock pot. I thought it was good, but the cooking time was too long so some of the meat was a little dry. But, I made the sauce into gravy which was good, And I put the pulled off meat in some sauce to moisten it while waiting for hubby to arrive home. I would make it again, but cook it shorter time. I used a 5 pound chicken and it cooked the whole time I was at work fro 8 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I thought this was really good. I used a 4.5 lb chicken, so I did double the recipe. The chicken came out very tender and really did fall off the bone. However, the cooking time in the recipe is way too long. I cooked mine on low for 4 1/2 hours and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Cooked up nice but was rather flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I will not make this again. I used this recipe to save time, but will be spending extra time to make this into a casserole or salad, because it's not acceptable for a main dish as is. I cooked on low setting for only about 4 1/2 hours, and it was already falling apart but the meat was extremely dry. Based on other reviews, I made some modifications. I used apple juice in addition to chicken broth, eliminated the honey, balsamic, and sesame oil; I reduced the soy sauce, used very little olive oil, and added salt, pepper, garlic, and onion to both the chicken itself and the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I used chicken pieces. I am also very lazy - I did not skin the pieces, thus left out the olive oil completely. (Keep the sesame oil!) I threw in 4 crushed garlic cloves, rest of the ingredients, and layered sliced onions below the pieces. Low setting on 8 hours for chicken pieces will dry it out, especially if using white meat. Using low heat, I threw in some carrots at 3 hours, and at 4 hours, I threw in some broccoli. After another 30 minutes (4.5 hours total), it was ready! Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Family really enjoyed this chicken dish, lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I had high hopes from the other reviews, but this chicken was... blah. It had no taste and the texture was mealy, almost paste-like. It did fall off the bone, so that was good. We didn't even keep the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roxboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Made this recipe with a 5lb. chicken and upped the ingredients for the larger bird. I also increased the time from 4 hrs on high to 6 hrs on high. Five hours would have been plenty for this size bird. The flavor is fantastic, and it is so tender. Love this recipe and shared it with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Really excellent and easy recipe. I had never made a whole chicken in the crockpot before and was surprised at how tasty it was. We'll do this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States