Kathy's Baked Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I made this with what I had on hand, so I altered the recipe considerably. I wanted to rate this anyway to encourage people to try it. We loved it and next time we will definitely try the original version! When I made it I substited 5oz. frozen spinach for the arugula, ricotta for the feta and gruyere for the parmesan. I also added about a teaspoon of dried basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I am the recipe author so am not rating the recipe. Just wanted to note that fresh spinach is a perfectly acceptable substitute for the arugula, and I use it frequently. My original recipe submission said spinach or arugula, but for some reason it didn't show up when the recipe was published. Other cheeses can be interchanged successfully as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
One of the best recipes I tried this season. Naturally, I altered it a bit, using frozen spinach instead of arugula, probably about half again what was called for, and mixed some ricotta in as well as the feta and parmesan. So excellent. I will definately be making this again. Even the tomato haters liked it. It looks really impressive too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Love chick peas and love arugula so this was a perfect lunch for me. I added fresh garlic to the mix and some onion powder. I try so hard to get the right amount of fiber into myself everyday and this really helped and was delicious to boot! Thanks so much Kathy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This was really easy and tasty. I changed it up a bit by first blanching the arugula and squeezing the excess liquid out of it before throwing it in the processor and I omitted the feta and added a few extra tablespoons of parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I made this recipe as-is. The flavor of the stuffed tomatoes was nice, but the texture wasn't right. After 20 minutes in the oven, the arugula filling was warmed, but not really cooked and the tomatoes got very watery. If I were to make this again, I'd cut the tomatoes in half before stuffing them and then bake them longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Super good and super fast! I added shredded cooked chicken and oregano. Instead of the blender, I used a potato masher on the garbanzo beans and mixed everything else in by hand (more texture & less dishes). Serving it with whole wheat toast on the side made it the perfect summer lunch - my kids even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This recipe was great! These are perfect for a light dinner, and really they don't take that long to prepare. The only changes I made was omitting the arugula (I didn't have any) and using a mixture of mozzerella and parm cheeses. Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Healthy and Excellent. I couldn't find arugula so I substituted fresh basil- tastes like pizza without the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt116

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Not very good. I blended it up with the spinach. The recipe didn't say if you needed to drain the beans or not so I didn't, and maybe that's why they didn't turn out so good? Just bland not appetizing. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States