Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Instead of using garlic powder, I used fresh minced garlic. I sauteed the onion and garlic in a little butter before adding the remaining ingredients. This was a nice sauce but it seems to be missing something and even after simmering, it was a little thin........VERY easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
This was a easy and great tasting recipe. I actually made ribs with it. I just made this sauce and applied it to the ribs, wrapped them in foil and baked 300 for 2 1/2 hours. Then took the extra sauce over to my friend's house and put them on the bbq and put on the extra sauce. They came off the grill and dinner wasn't quite ready and the ribs were gone before the rest of the meal was on the table. There were bones everywhere and everyone wanted this recipe. I hadn't brought the recipe but told them where they could find it. It was spicy but the kids ate them without any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
YUM!!! I was feeling lazy when I made this so I dumped it all in the crock pot (minus the tomato sauce and onions); threw in 2 frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts and cooked on low for about 6 hours. Very good! Sauce did not penetrate chicken much but there was a lot of flavor in sauce and chicken was tender. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I just made this recipe, hoping it would compliment our ribs, but there is just something bitter about this recipe. I don't know what it is exactly, but it feels like it's almost there but not quite. I don't really like the liquid smoke flavor either, so maybe that could be what makes this recipe taste funny. We tend to like sweet bbq sauces, but this is not the kind of sweet we are used to (we like Sonny's BBQ's sweet sauce.) I guess we'll keep looking for a recipe that suits our taste better. Thanks anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I used this sauce with 25 pounds of pulled pork at a memorial picnic for a fallen biker. I knew the sauce was a hit when I watched people go back to the buffet table for seconds, and return with 3 of my sandwiches on their plates.......and nothing else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
VERY Good! Sweet, with subtle heat! This is a nice thick sauce that gets better after refrigerating overight. I scaled back to 8 servings to try out. For the kids sake, I cut the cayenne and black pepper back to 1/4 teaspoon. I did not have tomato juice on hand so I subbed 3 tablespoon of crushed canned tomatoes. I used this sauce on baby back ribs with were rubbed with the BBQ Dry Rub Recipe. This sauce is every bit as good and comparable to the Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
After two years of trying barbecue sauce recipes I have finally found one that we all think is great. My daughter would prefer it a little less spicy, so I will probably make some for her with a little less cayenne. Also, I used half molasses and half corn syrup. Superb!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Oh... my.... gosh. This is theee best bbq sauce. Everything you want in a sauce - tangy, spicy, sweet. Just terrific. Bottle this and you'll make a fortune.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Just fabulous! This worked out great and I'll be using it again! Changes? Pureed half an onion and 2 garlic cloves (I'll try roasted garlic next time) and only 1 tbsp liquid smoke. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Loved this sauce ..made exactly like the recipe called for.Put it over a roast for shredded beef sandwiches and cooked it all day ...yummm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANAURIOSTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States