Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This is the best K.C. style sauce I have ever had. Do not be afraid of the peppers as they "quiet down" on the grill. Very well balanced sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norton Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This sauce was delicious and received many compliments. I took a shortcut and turned it into a meal. I sprayed a casserole with Pam, put down a layer of sliced white onions, then chicken breasts and covered it generously with the cold bbq sauce. I baked it covered for about 30 min and then uncovered for about 15 at about 350. It was moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This one didn't do it for me. I've had better barbecue sauce. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I just made this recipe, hoping it would compliment our ribs, but there is just something bitter about this recipe. I don't know what it is exactly, but it feels like it's almost there but not quite. I don't really like the liquid smoke flavor either, so maybe that could be what makes this recipe taste funny. We tend to like sweet bbq sauces, but this is not the kind of sweet we are used to (we like Sonny's BBQ's sweet sauce.) I guess we'll keep looking for a recipe that suits our taste better. Thanks anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This is the best BBQ sauce ever. I will never buy store bought again. I didn't have tomato juice so I had to substitute it for a little tomato sauce. I also was out of onions so I used half a pack of onion soup mix instead. This recipe is definately a keeper. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I have made this twice and it is excellent! Everyone loved it. Sweet with a little bit of a bite to it. Definitely will make again. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARSKESD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This barbeque sauce is good, but it is only getting three stars since I had to make so many alterations to it. Using the advice of other reviewers, I used a combination of molasses and dark corn syrup and reduced the amount of cayenne pepper. I also used only half the amount of liquid smoke for my own personal taste and added fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. I thought it was much too sweet, so I added a bit of cider vinegar for tartness as well as more tomato juice. It turned out well, but I am going to keep looking for a bbq sauce recipe that is more to my taste. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
All I can say about this BQ sauce is WOW!! really, really good : )the only diffrence with my recipe is I added apricot preserves to my recipe. This is how I did it: I made the above barbeque sauce. Then in a seperate small pot I boiled 2tbls of butter, 1tbls of honey, and 4oz of appricot preserves together. After about 5 min the apricot preserve will simmer/thin down. Add this to Kathy's award winning barbeque sauce. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I usually double this when I make it. My friends all love it. Me too. The only other thing I do is I use Shrimp cocktail sauce instead of the ketchup. It seems to add that extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
easy and great tasting...the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States