Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is a really good sauce! We have used it a couple of times for steak and chicken and I forgot to rate it. We used it for ribs today. Really enjoyed, thanks for the post. It wil probably replace our bottled sauce/cola stuff we usually do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
My hubby likes this BBQ sauce, but says it's a little spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Loved the sauce as stated in recipe, but with a little extra heat even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I tried making half the recipe (just in case it was a disaster, I didn't want to have wasted a ton of ingredients). However, instead of halving the molasses, I used quarter of the amount recommended, and I think this was a good change. I used a generous amount of onion powder instead of the chopped onion and half a teaspoon of cayenne pepper (although I think I could have used 3/4 tsp and still be okay). I didn't have tomato juice but did have some tomato paste and used about a tablespoon of that. One reviewer suggested that the liquid smoke imparted a bitter taste, and I am inclined to agree; I used half a teaspoon but am not sure that it is even necessary. Next time I'd increase the brown sugar just a little. Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I started to make this recipe, but had to abort about half way through. One thing that is not clear is the type of molasses to be used. I have dark molasses, and I thought it seemed out of proportion to have 1 cup of ketchup with 1 cup of molasses. I cut the molasses in half, and it was still OVERpowering. All you can taste is molasses. I ended up adding another 3 cups of ketchup to thin the ratio, and then proceeded with the other ingredients. I am rating with 3 stars because the recipe is not clear on what type of molasses to use. I feel like I wasted a lot of time and moneyr trying to modify what is rated a 5 star recipe to make it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
amazing i love it this by far is the easiest and best sauce I've ever made... god bless you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonicaShanti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
DO NOT USE THE LIQUID SMOKE!!!!!!! It makes it extremely bitter. Other than that this is a great easy recipe. I added more brown sugar and a jalapeno and turned out as a amazing spicy sweet sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was an awesome recipe! I didn't have any liquid smoke so I didn't add any of that and I added fire roasted tomatoes instead of tomato juice and it came out just perfect i simmered it with shredded pork and served it on bread. It was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This was a very delicious sauce! We used it for chicken; we marinated the chicken breasts in the fridge for about an hour using some of the sauce. Then we barbecued the chicken while basting the rest of the sauce on. Our guests said it was the best barbecued chicken they've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
very easy to make for first time.smells and tast great minus the fact that i didnt have onion or tomato juice on hand,but turned out great.if u dont like spice (i do) add less cayenne and black pepper.this bbq sause i would like to try and make baked beans with yummy!!!!!! and u can get liquid smoke from grocery store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States