Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This is a fantastic BBQ sauce! I sub'd onion powder for the diced onion, but that was the only change. No need to ever buy bottled sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skylittle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I have used this recipe for years now. It's perfect for twicking and 3X's the recipe for canning and enjoying through out the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PascoTracy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Tried this just for fun as there was BBQ Sauce in the fridge and it's not an inconvenience to pick up a bottle at the store. Now I know better; this sauce was excellent and a lot tastier than store-bought. It has a standard BBQ flavor but with a perfect mix of sweet tang and spiciness. I was skeptical over that much cayenne in a little serving because cayenne goes a long ways, but this sauce does cancel out a lot of it so you really do need to put that much --even if you generally only add a sprinkle to foods. It DOES have a bite to it that builds up heat, but it won't burn anyone's mouth as you might expect it to. We thought it was perfect. Have a cheap blender like me because you never use it, then when you do it doesn't perform well? Make it run Puree for 2 minutes straight without interruption, and you won't find any onions. Hah. You'll have a professional sauce that gets tons of compliments at how great it is --and people are impressed when even your sauces are homemade. This is definitely worth trying & showing off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
WOW! Plain and simple...wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dorchester, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
VERY Good! Sweet, with subtle heat! This is a nice thick sauce that gets better after refrigerating overight. I scaled back to 8 servings to try out. For the kids sake, I cut the cayenne and black pepper back to 1/4 teaspoon. I did not have tomato juice on hand so I subbed 3 tablespoon of crushed canned tomatoes. I used this sauce on baby back ribs with were rubbed with the BBQ Dry Rub Recipe. This sauce is every bit as good and comparable to the Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
wonderful with a little kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Love the flavor, hate all that spiciness. My husband (who normally loves spicy food) even commented that it need less heat! I might try it again as I love the ease and ingredients that it took to make it. And the flavor is good, but I will definitely add much less cayenne pepper. I guess I should have read all of the reviews first before making it as I know many others said this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
A+...I can see how it wins competitions. Made an amazing pulled chicken barbecue sandwich. Also easy to tailor to your own preferences. Also works great in a slow-cooker. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
LOVE IT!!!! I'm the cook at the fire station and the guys loved it. Poured it over some chicken and everything was just great. Easy to make so ya can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States