Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I cook for a community dinner every other month and the first month that we cooked I had someone else buy the bbq sauce and it was a hideous disaster! This time, I was determined to redeem myself! After reading the reviews, I decided this was the one to try! After getting all the ingrediants together in the pot (substituting the molases with a mixture of molasses, brown sugar, kayro syrup and maple syrup because of necessity) I dipped my finger in just to test it and was so pleasnatly surprised! I feel confident that this will be the redemption for which I seek! Very yummy even before the simmer. I decided not to shortcut with the powder forms of onion and garlic...used fresh. I am anxious to report back to ya'll after the dinner. Stay tuned in for the next saga! FANTASTIC! I will NEVER EVER EVER buy BBQ sauce from the store again...the BEST I have EVER tasted....going to use it for my neice's graduation party but may cut the cayanne pepper for the weaklings! lol SO FABULOUS!!!!! Restaurant worthy. As in, if I ever open a restaurant, this will be one of the items of legendarey taste on the menu. Maybe even what it's known for! HOOOOAHHHH!!! Thank yoiu KATHY! You make me look doggone great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This came out great! Here are my modifications: I omitted the liquid smoke and used 1.5 t onion powder in place of the chopped onion. This allowed me to skip the blender step and save time! It thickened up great. I served it with shredded chicken and coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
what is liqiud smoke flavoring? where can i buy this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Great taste, with a nice bite in there. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Pretty good. If I would have have the corn syurp I would have used it. That is the only thing I would change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
looks beautiful, taste is good, but I would sub some honey for the molasses next time and cut down on the cayenne pepper. Very impressive looking. Sweet baby ray's is my favorite sauce, I think with some pineapple juice and the changes above this would be really close! thanks for the recipe. Very easy, always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
My hubby couldn't get over the popping flavors of this little sauce. We bottled up the rest and stuck it in the fridge for the next time we need a BBQ sauce which should be in the next few days since we are always BBQ'ing. This is perfect since I feel like I always run out of BBQ sauce and now, that won't happen again. Thanks for a fabuulous & easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loliekay
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This wonderful and all my friends ask for it when I've used it. The only change I made was to add hot cocktail sauce instead of the ketchup. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This is a fantastic BBQ sauce! I sub'd onion powder for the diced onion, but that was the only change. No need to ever buy bottled sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skylittle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I have used this recipe for years now. It's perfect for twicking and 3X's the recipe for canning and enjoying through out the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PascoTracy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States