Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Kathy's Award Winning BBQ Sauce Haiku: "Trophies, ribbons, stars. Kathy deserves the awards. BBQ sauce win!" I had a total AR bust last night w/ a crockpot chicken dish that was inedible ... this sauce rescued the leftovers! I shredded the chicken, thinking I'd put it over a salad, but decided to have BBQ sammies instead, but wait! I was out of sauce! I made this recipe coz I had the ingredients on hand (less the liquid smoke), and oh.my.god this stuff is thick, glossy, goopy, sweet, spicy all kinds of goodness rolled up in one transcendent sauce. I'm going to make a huge batch one of these days just to keep a jar in the fridge. Thanks Kathy ~ you saved my failed chicken leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I have 3 bottles of unopenned store bought sauce in the pantry. I'm giving these away to my local food bank. I'll never use a store bought sauce again. Need I say more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl Lopresti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This sauce is so rich and thick I decided to use it as a dipping sauce instead of adding it to the chicken first. I baked the chicken until almost done and then grilled it on high heat until browned. The chicken is very tender and absolutely divine with this Barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil
Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is absolutely the best barbeque sauce I have ever had. I will make this many times. No wonder it's award winning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
People love this GOOD all around sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I have made this recipe again and again for BBQ's on the grill and it is a BIG HIT in my family! Everyone wanted a copy. My husband loves to eat and he had me make this recipe for steaks. We even use it on fish. After the fish is grilled we slather it on. YES Slather, lol. Wonderful!!! I froze an extra batch so we could use it in the winter with other recipes calling for a little zing. The only thing I did change was the amount of molasses. I used a 1/2 cup. A little too strong for us especially with the liquid smoke. FANTASTIC! Thank you Kathy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I just love this bbq sauce. I have had many complments on its taste. It is soooo much better then any store bought bbq sauce. Has alot of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is an excellent sauce for ribs, chicken, pulled pork and I should know I live in Memphis! I did tweak it a bit only because I am not a big fan of molasses taste, liquid smoke or lots of cayenne. I substituted 1/2 c molasses, 1/2 c honey, only one tablespoon of liquid smoke instead of two and half the cayenne. I would suggest to everyone they try it with half the cayenne before committing yourself as it has quite a kick with just the 1 tsp once it has been cooking a bit. If you find you want more zing, add the other tsp about 5-10 minutes before finishing cooking. Great sauce, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
OMG !!! AWESOME!!! cant say it any better thn that!! yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I have never made my own barbeque sauce at home before and will definetely do it again. Thanks for an easy way to add some spice to a nice pulled pork sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desiree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States