Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Would've given this 5 stars, but I made many changes that I would recommend for people who like it a little less sweet with a little more tang and not so spicy, without the changes the sauce was quite sweet: Add 1/2 the black pepper or less, add only a dash of cayenne or your mouth will burn--I was cooking it for a toddler so it would have been WAY TOO SPICY, add more lemon juice, add a T of vinegar, use 1/2 molasses 1/2 dark corn syrup as others have suggested. Also, I used about 1/2 t. fresh crushed garlic you can find in the produce area in the store, but garlic powder (not as much as this calls for) will also work. I did not use fresh onion, but onion powder, so I didn't need to use the blender. Also, I did 1 T. of liquid smoke, 2 T is too much. FINALLY, watch this as it cooks AND STIR often, or else it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Great! Before allrecipes.com, I would not have considered myself a good cook, but now, with recipes like this, I feel like a chef. This one is a keeper. I fixed the sauce a couple days ahead of time. I used a 4 pound rump roast - shredded. There was plenty of sauce because I doubled the recipe. It was sweet with a kick. Definately this will be used again. Thanks for making me look good to the friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Terrific baseline barbeque sauce. However, most will want to cut the cayenne in half. EQUALLY IMPORTANT, the recipe calls for 1 tablespoon of garlic powder. That's equivalent of around 12 CLOVES of fresh garlic (check out the garlic powder bottle: 1/4 t. = 1 medium garlic clove). A great BBQ sauce should be balanced. Too much garlic (which I love!) can overpower a sauce as much as too much pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Awesome recipe! I have used it several times. It's great on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NITSCHKE1228

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
THIS RECIPE is AWESOME!!! Definitely 5 stars!!! We used this bbq sauce with ribs and chicken. The molasses really makes it fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This sauce is fantastic!! Made it for our 4th of July cookout. I was using the sauce on BBQ chicken for the kids so I cut the cayenne pepper back to just a sprinkle. I think next time I will play around with this a bit to see what I can come up with (it seems to hold up well to additions). I think people ate more chicken than anything else, everyone LOVED the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEVYAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2004
This barbeque sauce is absolutely great. Slightly cost prohibitive, due to the molasses, but if you wanna impress someone this will do it everytime. Makes better spareribs than any restaurant here in Las Vegas. I make it for family whenever someone comes to visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
The perfect mix of sweet and spicy! Easy to make and had a nice consistency. Way better than any bottled mix. Made this for ribs this weekend and it made the best ribs. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
If your looking for a BBQ sauce that tastes a like the KCity brand - this is it! As I like bbq sauce to be a little sweet, a little spicy, and have a deep rich taste, this is got to be my favorite. After my spouse and I tried several BBQ recipes one night (in small portions), compared ingredients, we noticed that the key ingredient that makes this recipe is Molasses. As he is more the 1 tomato to 4 parts vinegar type that they serve in the Carolinas, he chose a different recipe. As for me - this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Wow! Now I know why this is an award winning recipe. You certainly can't get this kind of taste from a bottle which makes it so worth the little effort it takes to prepare this. I do agree, however, with everyone who said that a tsp. of cayenne is too much heat. I love spice, but even the half tsp. I used gave it a good zing. Now that I've eaten at least five tablespoons from the sauce pan, I really wish I had some ribs on hand! Terrific Kathy and thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States