Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Wow! Now I know why this is an award winning recipe. You certainly can't get this kind of taste from a bottle which makes it so worth the little effort it takes to prepare this. I do agree, however, with everyone who said that a tsp. of cayenne is too much heat. I love spice, but even the half tsp. I used gave it a good zing. Now that I've eaten at least five tablespoons from the sauce pan, I really wish I had some ribs on hand! Terrific Kathy and thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Excellent BBQ sauce!! Used this with our BBQ pulled pork sandwiches. I used 1/2 t. black pepper and 1/2 t. cayenne instead of what was in the recipe and it was plenty hot for us. I also deluted the sauce with some tomatoe juice the next day as it got a little thick and tasted too much like molassas. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
This was absolutely fabulous! I used this on country style pork ribs in the crock pot. They were just delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuisinebykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
Thank goodness I cut the pepper in half. What a wonderful sauce. I've been trying recipe after recipe and end up thowing them out. This one is not only a keeper but has ended my search for the perfect tomato-based sweet sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Wow!! This is great sauce. Used spicy V8 Juice. After the 1st batch I altered the recipe just a bit for personal taste. I used less cayenne and instead of using all the molasses, I used 1/3 cup molasses and 2/3 dark corn syrup. For my husband who likes his sauce super hot, I added 3TBL prepared horshradish and 3tsp of cayenne. It made my eyes water just making it but he was in heaven! I made several small jars and gave as gifts this year. Love it! Thanks for sharing Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Great stuff, followed others suggestions and used half molasses, half dark corn syrup, fresh garlic and added a quarter cup of dijon mustard, cut the peppers in half, kids here too. It still is spicy. I can only imagine how spicy it is when you use all of the pepper called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Made it, loved it! I didn't want to get my blender dirty, so I minced the onion. And because I can't leave well enough alone, I added some canned mandarin oranges...mmmmm. Take everyone's advice--use half the cayenne! THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This sauce is very delicious. I followed other reviews listed and halved the cayenne pepper--thank goodness I did. Even with half there was still quite a bite to this sauce. I'm hooked. No more store bought barbecue sauce for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
If your looking for a BBQ sauce that tastes a like the KCity brand - this is it! As I like bbq sauce to be a little sweet, a little spicy, and have a deep rich taste, this is got to be my favorite. After my spouse and I tried several BBQ recipes one night (in small portions), compared ingredients, we noticed that the key ingredient that makes this recipe is Molasses. As he is more the 1 tomato to 4 parts vinegar type that they serve in the Carolinas, he chose a different recipe. As for me - this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
The perfect mix of sweet and spicy! Easy to make and had a nice consistency. Way better than any bottled mix. Made this for ribs this weekend and it made the best ribs. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States