Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
This was absolutely fabulous! I used this on country style pork ribs in the crock pot. They were just delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuisinebykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Excellent BBQ sauce!! Used this with our BBQ pulled pork sandwiches. I used 1/2 t. black pepper and 1/2 t. cayenne instead of what was in the recipe and it was plenty hot for us. I also deluted the sauce with some tomatoe juice the next day as it got a little thick and tasted too much like molassas. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
Thank goodness I cut the pepper in half. What a wonderful sauce. I've been trying recipe after recipe and end up thowing them out. This one is not only a keeper but has ended my search for the perfect tomato-based sweet sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Wow!! This is great sauce. Used spicy V8 Juice. After the 1st batch I altered the recipe just a bit for personal taste. I used less cayenne and instead of using all the molasses, I used 1/3 cup molasses and 2/3 dark corn syrup. For my husband who likes his sauce super hot, I added 3TBL prepared horshradish and 3tsp of cayenne. It made my eyes water just making it but he was in heaven! I made several small jars and gave as gifts this year. Love it! Thanks for sharing Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Great stuff, followed others suggestions and used half molasses, half dark corn syrup, fresh garlic and added a quarter cup of dijon mustard, cut the peppers in half, kids here too. It still is spicy. I can only imagine how spicy it is when you use all of the pepper called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Made it, loved it! I didn't want to get my blender dirty, so I minced the onion. And because I can't leave well enough alone, I added some canned mandarin oranges...mmmmm. Take everyone's advice--use half the cayenne! THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This sauce is very delicious. I followed other reviews listed and halved the cayenne pepper--thank goodness I did. Even with half there was still quite a bite to this sauce. I'm hooked. No more store bought barbecue sauce for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Wow! Now I know why this is an award winning recipe. You certainly can't get this kind of taste from a bottle which makes it so worth the little effort it takes to prepare this. I do agree, however, with everyone who said that a tsp. of cayenne is too much heat. I love spice, but even the half tsp. I used gave it a good zing. Now that I've eaten at least five tablespoons from the sauce pan, I really wish I had some ribs on hand! Terrific Kathy and thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
If your looking for a BBQ sauce that tastes a like the KCity brand - this is it! As I like bbq sauce to be a little sweet, a little spicy, and have a deep rich taste, this is got to be my favorite. After my spouse and I tried several BBQ recipes one night (in small portions), compared ingredients, we noticed that the key ingredient that makes this recipe is Molasses. As he is more the 1 tomato to 4 parts vinegar type that they serve in the Carolinas, he chose a different recipe. As for me - this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
The perfect mix of sweet and spicy! Easy to make and had a nice consistency. Way better than any bottled mix. Made this for ribs this weekend and it made the best ribs. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States