Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
easy and great tasting...the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Yum Yum Yum! This recipe makes totally yummy bbq sauce! I used 1 tsp only of cayenne pepper, 3/4 cup molasses with 1/4 corn syrup and 1tsp only of liquid smoke (we're not big smokey bbq people). It was zingy enough for the big people, but still suitable for my three year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberfoyle, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This is quite possibly the last barbeque sauce that I will ever make. I've replaced the garlic powder with fresh garlic and I generally simmer it a bit longer. Usually, I just finely chop the onion and skip the blender/food processor step to save clean-up time/dishwaher space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charter Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Oh... my.... gosh. This is theee best bbq sauce. Everything you want in a sauce - tangy, spicy, sweet. Just terrific. Bottle this and you'll make a fortune.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Thank-you for this wonderful recipe. I have never made BBQ sauce before and my first attempt using your recipe was perfect. I quadrupled the recipe and am sending jars to my family in Alberta and Northern B.C. My son is a notoriously picky eater and when I ask him what he wants for dinner now he says, "I don't care just make sure you put the BBQ sauce on it." I add a little wasabi to his because he likes it hot. Thank you again for this recipe I am the BBQ queen of my town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This recipe is a definate winner! I keep getting requests to make more sauce and barbeque chicken pizza. No one can believe I made such a tasty sauce from scratch. The great part is that it is a relatively simple and quick process for great, reliable results! Like one reviewer suggested, I used V-8 instead of tomato juice and the sauce seemed to thicken faster when it (V-8)was refrigerated prior to blending.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Had I been able to access all of the ingredients listed, I believe this easily would have been a *5 star* recipe. Didn't have the tomato juice, used tomato puree instead, but I do not think that made much of a difference. Didn't use an actual onion, used onion powder. Didn't have the liquid smoke and I really think that's what would have "made" the recipe...it lacked that essential "smokiness" that characterises a good bbq sauce...so be forewarned potential sauce-makers -- have this liquid smoke stuff on hand! Otherwise, it was pretty tasty, but I can't wait to try it again, the "right" way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
My grill died. I wanted BBQ anyway! I tried this recipe in the crockpot. Our country ribs came out so tender and flavorful. I didn't have any molasses on hand so I used honey. I can't wait to try it with the molasses. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This is really a great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Lake, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Would've given this 5 stars, but I made many changes that I would recommend for people who like it a little less sweet with a little more tang and not so spicy, without the changes the sauce was quite sweet: Add 1/2 the black pepper or less, add only a dash of cayenne or your mouth will burn--I was cooking it for a toddler so it would have been WAY TOO SPICY, add more lemon juice, add a T of vinegar, use 1/2 molasses 1/2 dark corn syrup as others have suggested. Also, I used about 1/2 t. fresh crushed garlic you can find in the produce area in the store, but garlic powder (not as much as this calls for) will also work. I did not use fresh onion, but onion powder, so I didn't need to use the blender. Also, I did 1 T. of liquid smoke, 2 T is too much. FINALLY, watch this as it cooks AND STIR often, or else it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States