Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Made it, loved it! I didn't want to get my blender dirty, so I minced the onion. And because I can't leave well enough alone, I added some canned mandarin oranges...mmmmm. Take everyone's advice--use half the cayenne! THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Great stuff, followed others suggestions and used half molasses, half dark corn syrup, fresh garlic and added a quarter cup of dijon mustard, cut the peppers in half, kids here too. It still is spicy. I can only imagine how spicy it is when you use all of the pepper called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Wow!! This is great sauce. Used spicy V8 Juice. After the 1st batch I altered the recipe just a bit for personal taste. I used less cayenne and instead of using all the molasses, I used 1/3 cup molasses and 2/3 dark corn syrup. For my husband who likes his sauce super hot, I added 3TBL prepared horshradish and 3tsp of cayenne. It made my eyes water just making it but he was in heaven! I made several small jars and gave as gifts this year. Love it! Thanks for sharing Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
Thank goodness I cut the pepper in half. What a wonderful sauce. I've been trying recipe after recipe and end up thowing them out. This one is not only a keeper but has ended my search for the perfect tomato-based sweet sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
This was absolutely fabulous! I used this on country style pork ribs in the crock pot. They were just delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuisinebykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Excellent BBQ sauce!! Used this with our BBQ pulled pork sandwiches. I used 1/2 t. black pepper and 1/2 t. cayenne instead of what was in the recipe and it was plenty hot for us. I also deluted the sauce with some tomatoe juice the next day as it got a little thick and tasted too much like molassas. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
This was good sauce. I recommend adjusting the cayene pepper to your liking. I added about half of it and it was plenty spicey for me - but I usually eat things "medium" spicey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This was excellent. I did make changes to fit our tastes - added 1 chopped green pepper (sauted with the onion), reduced the molasses to 1/2 cup, added 3 tbsp prepared mustard, substituted cider vinegar for lemon juice, left out the tomato juice and reduced the cayenne. I wanted to make shredded BBQ chicken sandwiches, so thanks to the previous reviewer who said she tossed frozen chicken along with sauce into a crock pot. I did the same - added about 3 lbs (for a crowd) thawed chicken breasts to sauce in a crock pot set on high. The chicken was done after about 2 hours. Removed chicken and let cool; shredded with 2 forks and added back to sauce in crock pot to heat for another hour or so. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Loved this! It was nice and thick, and it had a sneaky kick to it. Next time, I would definitely use less cayenne pepper. I used V8 in place of the tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
Sorry, not very impressed. Seemed just ordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States