Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Terrific baseline barbeque sauce. However, most will want to cut the cayenne in half. EQUALLY IMPORTANT, the recipe calls for 1 tablespoon of garlic powder. That's equivalent of around 12 CLOVES of fresh garlic (check out the garlic powder bottle: 1/4 t. = 1 medium garlic clove). A great BBQ sauce should be balanced. Too much garlic (which I love!) can overpower a sauce as much as too much pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Awesome recipe! I have used it several times. It's great on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NITSCHKE1228

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
THIS RECIPE is AWESOME!!! Definitely 5 stars!!! We used this bbq sauce with ribs and chicken. The molasses really makes it fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This sauce is fantastic!! Made it for our 4th of July cookout. I was using the sauce on BBQ chicken for the kids so I cut the cayenne pepper back to just a sprinkle. I think next time I will play around with this a bit to see what I can come up with (it seems to hold up well to additions). I think people ate more chicken than anything else, everyone LOVED the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEVYAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2004
This barbeque sauce is absolutely great. Slightly cost prohibitive, due to the molasses, but if you wanna impress someone this will do it everytime. Makes better spareribs than any restaurant here in Las Vegas. I make it for family whenever someone comes to visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
The perfect mix of sweet and spicy! Easy to make and had a nice consistency. Way better than any bottled mix. Made this for ribs this weekend and it made the best ribs. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
If your looking for a BBQ sauce that tastes a like the KCity brand - this is it! As I like bbq sauce to be a little sweet, a little spicy, and have a deep rich taste, this is got to be my favorite. After my spouse and I tried several BBQ recipes one night (in small portions), compared ingredients, we noticed that the key ingredient that makes this recipe is Molasses. As he is more the 1 tomato to 4 parts vinegar type that they serve in the Carolinas, he chose a different recipe. As for me - this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Wow! Now I know why this is an award winning recipe. You certainly can't get this kind of taste from a bottle which makes it so worth the little effort it takes to prepare this. I do agree, however, with everyone who said that a tsp. of cayenne is too much heat. I love spice, but even the half tsp. I used gave it a good zing. Now that I've eaten at least five tablespoons from the sauce pan, I really wish I had some ribs on hand! Terrific Kathy and thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This sauce is very delicious. I followed other reviews listed and halved the cayenne pepper--thank goodness I did. Even with half there was still quite a bite to this sauce. I'm hooked. No more store bought barbecue sauce for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Made it, loved it! I didn't want to get my blender dirty, so I minced the onion. And because I can't leave well enough alone, I added some canned mandarin oranges...mmmmm. Take everyone's advice--use half the cayenne! THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States