Kathie's Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Good and disappeared quickly at office brunch. Will make again. My changes: Doubled recipe, added dried red/green bell peppers and onions (from Penzey's), increased garlic powder to ~1/2 tsp, used 19.5 oz. pkg sweet italian turkey sausage, and used reduced-fat cheddar. Made casserole night before; let it sit out ~30 minutes next morning before cooking. Took about 55 minutes to cook. Recommend adding ingredients to saucepan rather than 13X9 pan--too messy. Used non-stick spray on pan--came out easily and made clean-up quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
This was very quick and easy to make and tasted very good. I'll probably try adding some onion and/or green pepper next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophie
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I served this casserole for brunch and completed the menu for the meal by adding a fresh fruit salad, assorted muffins, coffee, and mimosas. EVERYONE loved the casserole & begged for the recipe. Two changes that I made to the written instructions were that I mixed the egg/cheese mixture and the sausage with the grits before I transferred everything into the 9x13 baking dish and the second change I made was that I added 1 cup of cheese to the top of the casserole instead of the recommended 1/2 cup. Other than that, I followed the recipe as it was written. [NOTE: I would recommend that you use the packaged, shredded cheddar cheese rather than grating your own block cheddar. The packaged cheese is "drier" and doesn't have the excess cheese oil/grease; therefore, it doesn't add an unwelcomed layer of grease to the top of the casserole.] This is a WONDERFUL recipe that will now become a family tradition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
YUM YUM YUM, MY FAMILY LOVED THIS,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I've not been a fan of grits, nearly my entire life. My sister made a recipe just like this one year for Christmas and I loved it, and was shocked it was loaded with grits...to my amazement, I have looked for similar recipes as the one she made and yet to find the exact one. This one was okay, slightly bland, but have more of a feeling it was the sausage and it was a bit soupy, not soupy running but like a soft yet thick pudding. If that makes sense. My sister's was a bit thicker and stood it's shape some. Possibly she used more eggs, but while this was simple, it was really nice, some tweaks are needed on our end with taste preferences. But again has a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Good basic recipe. I changed a few things. First, I didn't have shredded cheese, so I mixed a can of cheddar cheese soup with the cooked grits and eggs befpre mixing in the sausage. Second, I spread half a 7 oz. of diced green chiles over the mixture before baking. Finally I served over baked buttermilk biscuits (which I baked at the same time). Tasty, tasty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
An excellent casserole for a potluck or lazy weeknight supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This is an A++ recipe! My tastebuds exploded with the first mouthful. Easy to make and fast too! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Loved this recipe! Since there are only 3 of us, and we
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe is delicious! I had a ton of left over grits, so I did a google search on 'leftover grits' and dound this recipe. My family absolutely loved the casserole, and jokingly said this would be my new speciaty dish..lol. I made a few minor modifications to the recipe 1) instead of sausage, I used bacon and 2)instead of cheddar cheese I used 2% American cheese and topped the casserole off with cheddar cheese (to save calories). Thanks for the delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States