Kate's Light n' Fluffy Buttermilk and Chocolate Chip Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I followed the recipe pretty closely, but these just weren't that great for us, they weren't even as fluffy as I expected. Both of my boys liked them (and we didn't find the chocolate chips to be overpowering as some other reviewers did, but we certainly didn't need syrup on top, they were sweet enough as is) but none of us thought they were as good as some of the other waffle recipes we have tried, and they were much more work. I've saved the rest of the batter to try as pancakes, as one reviewer recommended. I might try the recipe again with some of the shortcuts recommended by other reviewers, but I won't be making it as posted again, too much work for what you get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I used real buttermilk in place of the cream and they came out very light, some of the best waffles I've made! Left chocolate chips out because I didn't have any. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pella, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These waffles are amazing! I used regular buttermilk and half the chocolate chips. My family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Killer. Absolutely perfect. Light and fluffy, yes ma'am. This one's a keeper. NOTE: I also used real buttermilk instead of powdered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Delicious recipe! I made mine with a waffle iron and the outside was crisp and the inside very light and fluffy. I made some minor substitutions based on the ingredients I had on hand and added a little salt. Made one batch w/out choco chips and one with - both were outstanding. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I have two kids that will be polite and tell me something's "ok" if they don't like it. I made these waffles up fallowing the recipe as written with the acception of real buttermilk which I whipped in with the egg yolks. The end result? I thought my kids had thrown them away because they disappeared so fast! The giveaway was when they begged to make some more that morning and again the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This recipe made a good waffle and my kids like them, but they tasted a little too eggy to me. Maybe because I cut back on the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Outstanding recipe! You really nailed the right leavening agents on this one, Bigtimemenace! I get a laugh out of the people who complain about this recipe being too time consuming. Whisking the eggs to stiff peaks is time consuming, but there is just no substitute for the thousands of air bubbles that steam and leaven these waffles. I made these waffles this morning and everyone in the house went crazy over them! Thank You for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gimpy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aledo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
These were fantastic! I did not use chocolate chips...used toasted pecans and cinnamon. Is a fantastic base recipe to add what you want. Waffles were crisp on the outside and light and airy on the inside...well worth the effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
A little flat tasting; will go back to other recipe from this site I've used before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States