Kate's Light n' Fluffy Buttermilk and Chocolate Chip Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Kids loved these. I actually didn't have any of these waffles, so I can only base it on my kids' rating. The recipe came together smoothly, cooked up very well (no sticking to the waffle iron), and the waffles looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These were so delicious that my kids did not even ask for syrup! I substituted the milk for buttermilk and omitted the buttermilk powder. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Oh! These are great! Plate not required. Deliscious. I used buttermilk instead of milk b/c thats all i had and MAGNIFICENT. Also didnt have mini choco chips so used chopped reg size. The last sub i made was to use 50/50 white-whole grain wheat. My girlfriend is also particular about waffles, but to a different degree, also loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
The only thing I changed in this recipe was that I had no buttermilk powder, so I used a little over 1 cup of actual buttermilk. These waffles are to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fiph4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I have had one waffle that was slightly fluffier (on a cruise). It could be a little tiny bit sweeter and maybe a bit lighter so I gave it a four star rating. I'm still searching for the perfect waffle, but I like this one quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Well, I didn't have half the ingredients but I was determined to make these!!! I used 3/4 c. buttermilk and 1/2 c. whole milk, omitting the buttermilk powder and cream, and substituted canola oil for the butter. I am notorious for not following directions, and this was no exception. I mixed the wet ingredients together, added the dry ingredients, and everything came out fine. I also added a dash of salt and a tablespoon of sugar, per previous reviews. They were a hit with my son, who is kind of picky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I made these as stated, but didn't have powdered buttermilk - only real buttermilk, which I added at the same time as the milk. I made some w/out chocolate chips - they were light & fluffy but lacked flavor and were a bit eggy tasting - nothing that butter and syrup didn't fix. The waffles with the chocolate chips weren't received well by my son. Not sure I'll make these again as it's a lot of trouble and we didn't love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Great waffles! Texture was light and they tasted terrific. I chose this recipe partly because I had buttermilk in the fridge that I wanted to use up, so I did as another reviewer suggested and used 1/2 buttermilk and 1/2 skim milk for the milk and omitted the buttermilk powder. I also added a pinch of salt and a a little sugar, since I didn't use any chocolate chips. I made a 1/2 recipe, and was a little surprised that it was only enough for 2 full waffles in the waffle iron, when the recipe said it should have made 5. Only two of us eating breakfast, so not a problem, but makes me think the yield of 10 waffles in the original recipe must mean 10 squares, not 10 full waffles. Really good recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
These waffles are definitely light and tasty. I made them without chocolate chips, but I hadn't noticed that the recipe did not contain sugar. Without the chocolate chips, you definitely need to add a tablespoon or two of sugar to the batter. This recipe is a good versatile recipe. I think you could leave it plain for a savory waffle, or add some herbs instead of the chocolate chips. For a sweet waffle, I recommend putting in some sugar. I imagine you use any kind of add-ins or toppings that you want with this basic recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I liked these because, unlike every other waffle recipe I've tried, they didn't get soggy instantly & I thank you for that!! They stayed crispy & yet were still fairly light. I used real buttermilk & decreased the choc chips a little but followed the recipe exactly otherwise. These really lean on the choc for flavor, even with real buttermilk the flavor was pretty mild. I'm sure I'll try these again but with a few tsp. of sugar. Thanks for the recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States