Kate's Easy German Sauerbraten Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Fabulous!! As good or better than any I've had at German restaurants. I didn't have whole cloves, so I used powdered. Marinated mine for 5 days for a fuller flavor and it turned out perfect! Makes a wonderful gravy, though I did add a package of brown gravy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I cried and enjoy each time I chew the stew. On the side of awesome Red Cabbage. I wish to add potato salad, but look at those cook is large for two people. We thankful for to keep ourselves because it does taste like we ate the restaurant! The only thing I removed is celery, because I do not recall at the restaurant have that recipe to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Terrific sauerbraten recipe. Marinated the beef for 3 days, then prepared it in the pressure cooker. (Seared meat in about 2 tbsp vegetable oil; cooked without vegetables at high pressure for 50 mins. Let pressure drop naturally; removed meat, added veggies and simmered until tender.) Served it with Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage and buttered kluski noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is an authentic German recipe. At last!!!! Even has the gingersnap cookies which are needed for thickening rather than flour. Excellent! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
The easiest, tastiest Sauerbraten ever! Quick and delicious. My son requests it for his birthday every year, and this is a pleasure to make. I follow directions exactly and it is perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonja Flater

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was super easy with the slow cooker and very close to authentic Sauerbraten that my family use to make when I was young. I was not able to find juniper berries, but it did not seem to effect the recipe. I was really skeptical about the gingersnap cookies in the gravy, but it worked beautifully and produced a wonderful sauce. Will definitely be keeping this one to make for large family dinners in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I made this recipe for a international luncheon we had at work. I won!! Best entree. This recipe is terrific. I used a rump roast instead of a chuck roast. I also made Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendy
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is very delicious. Easy recipe to do. You need a 4-5 lb piece of meat to feed more than 5 people. Very authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
We have two very picky boys, and they ate everything. We also made hot rotkohl, and spaetzle. The sauce was great, too, but I added a little corn starch and a few more ginger snaps. Everybody was happy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States