Kate's Easy German Sauerbraten Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe and cooked the roast in the marinade... the sauce after the ginger snaps , was so strong , peppery , salty , and just not a compliment to the meal that I had to corn syrup, water , what ever i could to sweeten... Next time cook roast in water and do the marinade , ginger snaps on the stove top.... I think the 4 hrs or so with the roast made it so strong , the ginger snaps couldn't resurrect it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by richard roper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This sauerbraten was a bit to sour for me. I understand what sauer means,it just wasn't a dish that I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Fabulous!! As good or better than any I've had at German restaurants. I didn't have whole cloves, so I used powdered. Marinated mine for 5 days for a fuller flavor and it turned out perfect! Makes a wonderful gravy, though I did add a package of brown gravy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I cried and enjoy each time I chew the stew. On the side of awesome Red Cabbage. I wish to add potato salad, but look at those cook is large for two people. We thankful for to keep ourselves because it does taste like we ate the restaurant! The only thing I removed is celery, because I do not recall at the restaurant have that recipe to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
We have two very picky boys, and they ate everything. We also made hot rotkohl, and spaetzle. The sauce was great, too, but I added a little corn starch and a few more ginger snaps. Everybody was happy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I really had high expectations for this. I used to have sauerbraten at a German restaurant in the Amana Colonies in Iowa every couple of years and for days or even weeks afterwards I would think of that meal and think to myself "Man, I really need to learn how to make that". I love sauerkraut on Reubens or brats and I always buy the good stuff that's refrigerated and not the canned junk. Somewhat unusually for me I followed the measurements to a T with the exception of juniper berries which I could not find at the store plus I added a couple of extra gingersnap cookies because they looked small to me (about the size of a half dollar). I marinated the meat for 2 & 1/2 days. I also cooked this in a Dutch oven where I browned the meat on all 4 sides first before adding the liquid and brought it just to a boil and then put it in a 250 degree oven for just under 4 hours. The meat came out almost fall apart tender. The taste of the meat was fine. As long as you got a little from the outside of the roast it had a nice little kick of sour to it's taste. My problem was with the gravy. It was way too sour and I usually like big, bold tastes. I used exactly 1 cup of cider vinegar. I ground the cookies up in a food processor and they thickened the gravy up a little too much so I was getting as much sugar from the cookies as possible. It was still way too sour in addition to being too thick so I added about a cup of water and that toned it down a tiny bit but it was still too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendy
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is very delicious. Easy recipe to do. You need a 4-5 lb piece of meat to feed more than 5 people. Very authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is an authentic German recipe. At last!!!! Even has the gingersnap cookies which are needed for thickening rather than flour. Excellent! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I made this recipe for a international luncheon we had at work. I won!! Best entree. This recipe is terrific. I used a rump roast instead of a chuck roast. I also made Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States