Kashmiri-Style Kidney Beans with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I loved this! This was my first turnip recipe, and now I'm hooked. I've made this four or five times, first as written and then with variations. Today I made a double recipe with 2 turnips, 4 carrots, a large potato, and 1 can of kidney beans. Because my tomatoes were very juicy, I drained off some of the cooking water (from the turnips) before combining. At any rate, this has been a 5 star recipe every time I've made it. I do think I like it better with carrots than without, but it is fabulous either way. Even my 2-year-old devours this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Fantastic smell! This is wonderful tasting dish was easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Very simple side dish that goes with almost anything! I had it with some tandoori chicken and a vegetable saffron pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aielena
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I only had white onion and I forgot to add the paprika but this still turned out really good! I guess I'm not normally a very good cook because my sister seemed startled that it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Delicious and highly recommended vegetarian dish! I will MOST DEFINITELY make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Excellent! Used smoked paprika in place of paprika. Probably not traditional, but tasted great. Also used anasazi beans with a little asafetida instead of the kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I added hamburger meat. It would be great without as well, but needed something more hearty/filling at the time. Great recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is tasty, but not wonderful. Easy to make, flavourful, good way to eat turnips but I doubt it will become a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I had some turnips from the CSA, and this was a great way to use them up. This was perfectly seasoned (except I added more salt) and fairly easy to prepare. I used chickpeas, all fresh ginger, and coconut oil--delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I have lots of turnips coming out of my garden right now and I had to find different ways to fix them. I came across this recipe by searching this site for "turnips". This was my first attempt at an Indian dish and I am very pleased with the results. If you like to have all your ingredients prepared ahead of time, you should add a little extra time for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States