Kashmiri-Style Kidney Beans with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I only had white onion and I forgot to add the paprika but this still turned out really good! I guess I'm not normally a very good cook because my sister seemed startled that it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Delicious and highly recommended vegetarian dish! I will MOST DEFINITELY make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Excellent! Used smoked paprika in place of paprika. Probably not traditional, but tasted great. Also used anasazi beans with a little asafetida instead of the kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I added hamburger meat. It would be great without as well, but needed something more hearty/filling at the time. Great recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is tasty, but not wonderful. Easy to make, flavourful, good way to eat turnips but I doubt it will become a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I had some turnips from the CSA, and this was a great way to use them up. This was perfectly seasoned (except I added more salt) and fairly easy to prepare. I used chickpeas, all fresh ginger, and coconut oil--delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I have lots of turnips coming out of my garden right now and I had to find different ways to fix them. I came across this recipe by searching this site for "turnips". This was my first attempt at an Indian dish and I am very pleased with the results. If you like to have all your ingredients prepared ahead of time, you should add a little extra time for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was excellent and not overwhelmingly turnip-y tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Very good! Even the the spices with the tomatoes and onion are great by itself over bulgur or couscous. I left out the Garam marsala as I didn't have any on hand. But I increased the spices and added a bit of red pepper to add some spiceeness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Yummy! I had to stop myself from having a third helping of this! I didn't change anything. I love the turnips. It's easy, and healthy too. The cumin seeds were definitely worth the purchase. I will be making this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States