Kashmiri-Style Kidney Beans with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Robin
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Very good recipe. Had some turnips to use and love Indian food. Can't really taste the turnips at all, which was the kind of recipe I wanted. Based on other reviews, I drained the turnips and beans and found the end result to be the perfect texture (thicker and chunkier). Also added cayenne for some zip. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. Served over fragrant basmati rice with some cilantro for garnish. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
We have four sons (ages 8, 6, 4, and 18 months) and they all love this dish! They don't usually like kidney beans, tomatoes or turnips on their own, but they gobbled this down no problem and asked for more. It's a great addition to a Meatless Monday rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Whoops I forgot to put the finishing touch of Garam Masala...I put cilantro on though! It was sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina de Faria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Loved it. I agree with the reviewer who added anchovy to the dish. I used anchovy paste (less messy) I tasted the dish and felt it was missing something so I added lemon juice and fresh coriander chopped right before serving. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HULAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was very good. I have to admit that, although I love Indian food, I don't make it often. I didn't have all of the spices. I didn't have fennel or garam masala. I made garam masala but I didn't have cardamom so it was not perfect but it was good. I think next time I would add a little more fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda
Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dubois, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Really enjoyed this dish! We received turnips in our CSA basket, and husband was reluctant to eat them, so I looked for a recipe that would spice up turnips. This was great & we will certainly repeat! I did sub canned tomatoes in the recipe, because I didn't have any fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
i've made many different curries before, and this, flavor-wise is one of the best. instead of salt, i added 2 chopped anchovies for a little more savoriness. i also used the turnip greens (chopped) and carrots (grated), throwing them in after the diced turnips had steamed for 3 minutes. LOVE. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAUBELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Use broth instead of water. A little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I didn't have Kashmiri garam masala on hand, never even heard of it, perhaps it was the one ingredient that would have made it a 5 star recipe for me. All the spices and textures came together quite well. If we keep eating like this, I'll have to change my screen name to to 4mynotsochubbyhubby! Very good eatin'. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4mychubbyhubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I loved this! This was my first turnip recipe, and now I'm hooked. I've made this four or five times, first as written and then with variations. Today I made a double recipe with 2 turnips, 4 carrots, a large potato, and 1 can of kidney beans. Because my tomatoes were very juicy, I drained off some of the cooking water (from the turnips) before combining. At any rate, this has been a 5 star recipe every time I've made it. I do think I like it better with carrots than without, but it is fabulous either way. Even my 2-year-old devours this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States