Kasha and Bowties (Kasha Varnishkas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Superb! I fry the kasha in a hot pan for a couple of minutes first, like my Bubie did and I really brown my onions and add a small can of drained mushroom pieces. But this is true comfort food in my family. Helps colds, tummy aches, and anything else that ails you. Love it. Thanks for printing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was my first try of buckwheat or kasha and I followed the recipe as is, only halved the quantity, and it turned out great. I only added some spices that I love such as ground cumin and dried thyme. This recipe is a keeper! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
this recipe is about the same as to the one I use, except I use whole groats, and fry the onion to very brown, not burnt. Must add enough salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
The first time I tried this recipe, I made it as written and it didn't really work out...I figured it was user error. Then I read the reviews and the back of the kasha box for guidance...what a difference! It definitely helps to toss the kasha in a bit of egg, oil or butter; of course, chicken fat would make it more authentic to my Bubie's. So next time, I may try to make my own schmaltz (chicken fat) and see how it turns out. Thanks Lobbylady for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
One recipe that always brings back the kitchen smells of my childhood! This is excellent as printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I wrote this recipe and please note it was edited slightly prior to submitting. I don't know why they did that. I toast the kasha with egg in the pan first, then add the liquid (usually chicken broth or water with bouillon), cover for around 5-9 minutes and it's done. I NEVER DRAIN my kasha. This recipe is just a matter of preparing everything separate and tossing together. When in doubt, follow manufacture instructions. (hint)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morganville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was my first attempt at this, and I have to say I was sad, I know I didn't cook the Kasha enough, it felt like we were eating noodles and sawdust and that CAN'T be what it was supposed to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I was raised on this and it has always been one of my favorite dishes. It is so tasty and healthy. I never keep canned broth in the house, so I use other forms of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is my first experience with Kasha and it was very tasty. I sauteed the kasha in a hot pan for 2-3 minutes before cooking (based on another eview's remark to keep it from getting mushy) I also used Swanson's Vegetarian Vegetable broth and whole wheat fusilli instead of egg bow ties. It was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States