Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This stuff is nectar of the gods. I used jumbo lump crabmeat, and so the soup has to be completely smooth. I made it in a double boiler so it can't burn. I added the liquid that comes with the crab, and let the soup sit hot for some time before serving, so that the crab flavor can go out through the soup. I used a lot less Old Bay, but had salt, pepper, and Old Bay at the table. It's terrible to think about, but there are some people who actually like bland food. Man, this soup is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe and we love it! I generally add some frozen or fresh corn to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was such a great recipe! I am always looking for great crab soup recipes this one is well worth trying! You will love it if you love cream of crab! This is a must try recipe, of course being from Maryland I added some extra crab meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
The rating is a compromise - DH gave it a 4 1/2 stars and I gave it a 3 1/2 so it gets 4. We enjoyed it but I think I added a bit too much sherry. That said, I started out with 1 1/2 T. of Old Bay and ended adding about another 1 T. Will definitely make this again. Love the hollandaise sauce addition - I think that really made a big difference. Thanks Karyn - this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very delicious soup! I had a bunch of extra crab legs left over from a dinner and decided to use the crab for soup. Awesome! I did scale back the old bay a tad and it was wonderful! Will def do it again and maybe even add some potatoes to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is my husband's and kids favorite soup. He is from Baltimore and doesn't want it changed a bit-perfection! My only suggestion is double it!;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
very good, I never would have thought to use hollandaise sauce but it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Awesome recipe! Followed other viewers' suggestions and cut back on the Old Bay but other than that followed the recipe exactly. I noticed this recipe is dated 2006. How did I miss it for the past 5 years?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayliner9999

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This recipe is awesome, but do not use 3tbs of obay!!! I'm a salt lover and it was waaaaayyyyy too much!!! I will use and recommend this recipe anyday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Made this soup added 2 tablespoons of old bay instead. This turned out so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States