Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Perfection. I followed the directions exactly-- except, like the others, I used about half the Old Bay. It really adds to the flavor without screaming Old Bay, but if you decide to omit, it will definitely need salt. I also used Knorrs Hollandaise, as one reviewer suggested. It was packaged .9 oz instead of 1.25, but I couldn't detect any issues with flavor or consistency. Absolutely loved this and SO easy! Thanks, Karyn!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I hate to give a lower rating to a recipe, but I didn't love this. My guests liked it & were thrilled when I sent home leftovers. My only change was less Old Bay & I still found it too salty. But that said this is a super easy recipe & very, very creamy. If I make it again I will add shredded onion & celery with additional seasonings. That said, I was entertaining "picky" eaters & they really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
My husband is from Maryland and loves Cream of Crab soup. I had my work cut out for me in trying to make it for him. I tried this recipe and it turned out great!! I didn't put as much Old Bay as it called for because I'm not crazy about it, but he added it to his bowl and loved it. He also prefers his soup just a tad thicker than this consistancy ended up, so I added just a little cornstarch. Perfection! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is a great basic recipe, but I adjusted it to make it absolutely delectable! First, I sauteed some veggies I like (red pepper, onion, garlic, celery) for about 30 minutes in olive oil, being careful not to burn. This creates a super-rich base that is great for any soup or sauce. At the end of this cooking time, you should have a brown mush with bits that stick to the bottom of the pan. Then I added all the other ingredients -- except the crab -- pureed it all, then added crab and some corn that I cut off the cob earlier. This makes for a nice texture. I made my own hollandaise from this site, skipped the butter and used whole milk instead, which made no difference in the richness because of the vegetable base. Try it, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This recipe made me look like a superstar with my family, friends and my boss. 2 people told me they licked the bowl clean. 3 people told me it was better than any restaraunt they had been to. They were all people with mature and refined palates. People who all reside in MD. And you know how picky Maryland people are about their crab. They kept on coming up to me talking about how good it was and how they wish I could have given them more. THIS IS A WINNER. I did add more sherry and the listed spices and only one tbs of old bay and added just regular table salt. So good and rich!!! This recipe is heaven sent and so easy. A keeper in deed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by young&inlovewithcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This is by far the best soup ever! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly with the exception of leaving out the sherry and dry mustard (didn't have it so I didn't add it). I also added a little more old bay because I love it so much. It was so rich and creamy. It is definitely a new family favorite! Thanks Karyn for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Oh my goodness! This was delicious! My husband asked if I was trying to kill him as he watched the half-and-half and cream go in the pot...but he (and my 8 and 1 year olds) loved the "broth". I used shrimp this time, as another user suggested, but will try the crab and maybe some additional seafood bits next time. My family also decided that this might taste good over rice or pasta, due to its creamy texture. Totally a keeper recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
the BEST thing I've ever eaten. Huge reviews every time I make it!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is the best crabsoup except that there must be a mistake in the amount of Old Bay if you use what the recipe calls for you can't eat it. Start with 1 Teaspoon and add more as needed for your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States