Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I make this every year (for the last 5 years)for my husbands holiday parties at work. What a hit. Everyone loves it, and at least 5 people always want the recipe. I add 1 tablespoon old bay, and that is just about right. I use low fat half and half, and when I make it just for my husband and I, I will not use the whipping cream, still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This is absolutely wonderful! I have made this dish a total of three times. The last time was for friends and relatives who gave rave reviews. The only alteration I made was to cut back on the Old Bay seasoning. Otherwise, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkesboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
My first time trying any crab soup recipe and this one did not disappoint! It is so rich and creamy! I too cut down on the Old Bay to only 1 tbsp, and used Nature's Seasoning to make up for other. Wonderful recipe! This will be a keeper for years to come! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
It was wonderful!!!!! Tryed to. Get the calerie/ fat count down also price,sigh. Used sea legs, double strength skim milk, butter buds, didn't have sherry used a cup of Chablis ,two tablespoons old bay ( will use less next time) 1/4 cup dried onion flakes, and of course the hollandasesauce mix. Even with all the swaps it was fantastic, can't imagine that the original could be better but when I get to goal I. Sure am going to try it as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Unbelievable!!!! I made this as is and both my husband and I loved it!!! It tastes exactly like the cream of crab we order at our favorite MD seafood restaurant!!!!! I consider myself a connoisseur of cream of crab soup because we live in MD and I order it at every restaurant we go to pretty much. My husband couldn't believe I made it from scratch!!! Thank you Karyn for an amazing recipe and for making me look good in the kitchen tonight!! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Fabulous! My man is more of a meat and potato person so along with the soup I made white rice w/butter and Tony Chachere's. I doubled the recipe to last us a few days. And, I also added crawfish tails and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This recipe is fantastic, incredible and so tasty.. I did alter it a little. I used 2 cups of half and half and 2 cups of heavy whipping cream. I did this because of the containers I purchased not to alter the taste. Also instead of the hollandaise sauce mix and flour I used Sysco's cream base. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This is by far the best cream of crab soup ever! I am also from Maryland, so the crab seasoning is a must...although we use JO Spice, a brand that is produced locally. In fact, lots of restaurants use JO around here. I made one small addition...just a dash of Worcestershire. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Made it just as it is and it was AMAZING!!! Also really simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I am from the eastern shore of MD - nothing beats Wye Mills crabs! I really liked this! It is rich, but good! I added the recommended Old Bay, plus some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Slaughter Holt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princess Anne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States