Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Delicious! I made this for my family of 5 and we devoured it. Very rich, very creamy and the instructions are perfect. I used 4 cans crab meat and half the old bay. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Fantastic! Served at a covered dish supper and had many raves. Cream of Crab soup should be rich and this recipe had the Midas touch. The hollandaise sauce gave it the extra rich notes. Should have used all of the Old Bay seasonings called for, I used a scant quarter cup when I tripled recipe, but then I am from Maryland and am used to it. And very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
So amazingly delicious! The hollaindaise did add a nice flavor and creamy texture. I did change a few minor things to suit our needs and taste. I had increased the recipe by 1/2 as we had almost 3 lbs of crab meat from our left over colassal crab legs we had for Valentine's Day. With this I used 1 1/2 tbls of the Old Bay, used milk instead of half and half, and ended up having to mix up a bit more butter/flour towards the end to thicken up again. My husband loved it too and he can be picky. I think it even tasted a bit better the next day after the flavors continued to mix. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
1 tablespoon of Old Bay and 2 tablespoons of marsala instead f sherry. Will try sherry next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Love everything about this recipe. Being from Maryland myself it's hard to find a recipe that lives up to a Marylander's standards and this recipe by far surpasses all expectations. I don't use all the old bay due to the kids not liking much spice but it's just as good with half the amount. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Made this for my wife only used 1 tablespoon of old bay and she loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I'm from Maryland and this is the best I have had. I have had some great cream of crab all over the State of Maryland and this tops all of the restaurants. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The recipe itself is amazing! The whole family loved it! But the lump crab I used had a lot of shells. Also, I love old bay but I only used 2tbl and it was perfect for us. Next time I might try it with shrimp! Thanks Karyn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Just perfect! Only change was 2 tbs of old bay......Loved it with French bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pittstlrfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Add 1-2 tsp of dried tarragon and it is beyond perfect. Trust me. I grew up eating the best Maryland cream of crab. This recipe is perfect with the tarragon. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States