Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I am the origional submitter of the recipe and yes 3 tablespoons of Old Bay is alot...but being from Maryland ..we love Old Bay and it's never enough for us! Of course it probably would be a little much for most people..so just adjust the amount to suit your taste. This is still the best cream of crab I have tasted. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARYN821

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
We are picky about our cream of crab and this recipe is a definite keeper. It's the first one that turned out great. I think the hollandaise and sherry are just the right amounts and give it a great flavor. This would have been 5 stars without changes, but I did add a bit of extra sherry and crabmeat. Those two changes are just personal preference. On top of being a terrific recipe, it was also quite easy to make. Not too many ingredients or steps to follow. I'd make this for dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Great idea - great soup. I tripled this recipe and supplemented about 1/3 of the lump crab with shrimp meat. I also added sauteed onions and celery, a little more sherry, and chopped parsley. There are a lot of great additions you could do with this soup - the base is awesome. The half & half can easily be replaced with milk for a few less fat cals - it's still rich and creamy. The ONLY reason I'm not giving this recipe 5 stars is because of the out-of-control Old Bay called for. I used half and had more than enough. Great recipe anyway, thanks Karyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I've been cooking recipes from AllRecipes.com for years, however this is my first review because I felt soup this exceptional deserves to be praised. I make a similar crab soup, but it always seemed to be lacking in flavor. So the addition of the envelope of hollandaise sauce was brilliant. I only made some minor adjustments - at the suggestion of other reviewers, I used a tad bit less Old Bay Seasoning. I also doubled the amount of cooking sherry only because I really enjoy the flavor of sherry in seafood cream-based soups. Since I was only cooking this for myself, I had some left over, and it was just as wonderful warmed in the microwave the following day, however, I added a small amount of milk to cut down on the thickness from being refrigerated. Thank you for sharing such a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
karyns, I use to drive 26 miles to a expensive resturant to get this soup. when i reviewed your recipe and then made it, I almost cried. It was wonderful. Now here I am making as a soup for my husband surprise party wait till the guests try this...you are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This soup is awesome! I made it for the first time on Christmas day. It's so rich and creamy. However, I do think that 3 tablespoons of old bay is way too much-very spicy! I am making it again tonight and am not adding any but will add it to my own bowl to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
i know why this recipe is rated five stars...i scaled it for two and thoroughly enjoyed it...i will be making it again...thanks for the recipe and i should mention i used imitation crab coz that is what i had on hand...i think it would work for shrimp too...i really liked it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Awesome!! We made this for my birthday and only put in half the Old Bay and it was so good that my husband and I decided that it would a birthday tradition. I'm from Baltimore as well but felt that 3 T of Old Bay would've been too much. This rates up there with Gibby's Cream of (Baltimore restaurant that had the best Cream of Crab that I ever tasted)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This was delicious and very easy to prepare. I was going to give it 4 stars because 3 tablespoons of Old Bay is way to much. Luckly I used only 2 Tablespoons and still I could have done with 1 and a half. Perhaps there was a typo and it was supposed to be 3 teaspoons instead. Also since it was already alot of salt, I used a splash of Merlot in place of the cooking sherry. My kidz devoured it! Being from Maryland we are always in search of the best Cream of Crab soup. Now I know wear to find it--In my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Whittington-Washington

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Randallstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
My husband made this tonight and all I can say is WOW. I didn't want to stop eating it and I cant wait to finish it off at lunch tomorrow. He used half of the old bay and chopped up some shrimp to add in which made it even yummier. I will be making this again in the future and I will try adding some bay scallops as well as salad shrimp. If I could rate this 50 stars I would. Definitely a recipe to write home about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States