Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This soup is awesome! I made it for the first time on Christmas day. It's so rich and creamy. However, I do think that 3 tablespoons of old bay is way too much-very spicy! I am making it again tonight and am not adding any but will add it to my own bowl to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This was delicious and very easy to prepare. I was going to give it 4 stars because 3 tablespoons of Old Bay is way to much. Luckly I used only 2 Tablespoons and still I could have done with 1 and a half. Perhaps there was a typo and it was supposed to be 3 teaspoons instead. Also since it was already alot of salt, I used a splash of Merlot in place of the cooking sherry. My kidz devoured it! Being from Maryland we are always in search of the best Cream of Crab soup. Now I know wear to find it--In my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Whittington-Washington

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Randallstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I am the origional submitter of the recipe and yes 3 tablespoons of Old Bay is alot...but being from Maryland ..we love Old Bay and it's never enough for us! Of course it probably would be a little much for most people..so just adjust the amount to suit your taste. This is still the best cream of crab I have tasted. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARYN821

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Have made this soup many times as it has become a family favorite. Full of flavor and filling. Very easy to make. I actually use more Old Bay than the recipe calls for as we enjoy spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This dish is great and very easy to make. I took the advice of others and added less Old Bay seasoning. Next time I will add more Old Bay seasoning than the recipe calls for. I like to taste the seasoning in my dishes. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful! Everyone that tried it loved it and wanted the recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was good. Not quite what I was used to eating out. It seemed a little off some how. I did cut back on the Old Bay some. It still seemed a little too much and I love Old Bay. We even put it in our fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I loved the recipe. Very easy. The hollaindaise sauce mix gives it a nice creamy texture. I am from Baltimore and we do love our Old Bay, but I cut back and only used 1 tablespoon. I also added fresh parsley. Perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I think this soup is absolutely excellent! My Maryland raised husband says it tastes like home. I will confess I tweak it just a little by adding extra sherry, but otherwise, it's just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
WOW! This was a nice treat for this seafood loving single Mom who has no time to cook! It is absolutely delicious! I did change things up a little though: I melted the butter, then added 2 minced shallots and a clove of minced garlic and cooked until soft. After that, I added the hollondaise/flour to make a roux, before adding the half & half. Other than that, I pretty much made it according to directions, other than only using 2 TBSP of Old Bay (GOOD CALL - 3 would have been too much, IMHO). Plus, I added a little fresh chopped parsley and a little extra sherry. YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY! I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
We are picky about our cream of crab and this recipe is a definite keeper. It's the first one that turned out great. I think the hollandaise and sherry are just the right amounts and give it a great flavor. This would have been 5 stars without changes, but I did add a bit of extra sherry and crabmeat. Those two changes are just personal preference. On top of being a terrific recipe, it was also quite easy to make. Not too many ingredients or steps to follow. I'd make this for dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States