Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Oh, Shucks! Well, I'll admit: I actually said the S-word (about 15 times) with every spoonful of a small cup of this delectable soup! I tweaked it by adding a mixture of dry and cream sherries. Try a cheap port as well. If you have a good, woody-sweet sipping wine, it'll work. I doubled the amount called in the recipe. My crab meat was four leftover Chesapeake Bay crabs from Annapolis, steamed with Old Bay. The original Old Bay seasoning is so salty and savory that you should *really* try low-sodium. Old Bay is so robust; this didn't need a pinch more of salt, there was a creamy-spicy-sherry goodness that friggin makes me happy that I have some more left. WOW. From a Marylander, With Pride.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steaksauce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
THIS RECIPE is a true recipe to how Cream of Crab soup is to be. It matches most restaurants and the creaminess is divine. I made some additions (finely chopped celery and carrot and a little cayenne pepper), one switch (I use LOW SODIUM Old Bay), and sherry is definitely to taste. I don't see a reasoning for changing the fat content unless for health reasons, but if the sodium content is an issue, the low sodium Old Bay works like a dream or make your own seafood or creole seasoning without salt and add salt separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
spectacular....YUM !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Excellent recipe. The only thing I changed was the amount of old bay, and I added a little water to thin it out some. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made this delicious soup last night! OMG, it was delicious. I added a little extra lump crab meat due to personal preference. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks Karyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Wow...expected this to be good but it was wonderful! It took some other reviewers advice and added some celery and onion, also used 3 cups half and half and 2 cups milk for calorie's sake. It was still very rich. Don't go to all this trouble and skimp on canned crab. Get the fresh crab in the tubs in the seafood department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This is one of my absolute favorite recipes! I use 2 Tbsp Old bay, 1 1/2 Tbsp cooking sherry, and only a pinch of celery seed. Lump crabmeat is a must. I made this for a party at work and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was incredible!!! Made exactly as described in the recipe and loved it!!! Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Amazing soup recipe! Easy to make and completely delicious. I added 1 cup of low fat milk to thin it down a bit and think next time I may use more milk and less half and half to cut some calories/fat, but it is delicious just the way it is. I also used a little bit of red wine instead of cooking sherry since I had no sherry. I also followed the advice of other reviewers and added only half the Old Bay that the recipe called for and it was DEFINITELY spicy enough. This will be a regular winter weather favorite for us! Thanks Karyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States