Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This recipe made me look like a superstar with my family, friends and my boss. 2 people told me they licked the bowl clean. 3 people told me it was better than any restaraunt they had been to. They were all people with mature and refined palates. People who all reside in MD. And you know how picky Maryland people are about their crab. They kept on coming up to me talking about how good it was and how they wish I could have given them more. THIS IS A WINNER. I did add more sherry and the listed spices and only one tbs of old bay and added just regular table salt. So good and rich!!! This recipe is heaven sent and so easy. A keeper in deed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by young&inlovewithcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This is by far the best soup ever! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly with the exception of leaving out the sherry and dry mustard (didn't have it so I didn't add it). I also added a little more old bay because I love it so much. It was so rich and creamy. It is definitely a new family favorite! Thanks Karyn for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Oh my goodness! This was delicious! My husband asked if I was trying to kill him as he watched the half-and-half and cream go in the pot...but he (and my 8 and 1 year olds) loved the "broth". I used shrimp this time, as another user suggested, but will try the crab and maybe some additional seafood bits next time. My family also decided that this might taste good over rice or pasta, due to its creamy texture. Totally a keeper recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
the BEST thing I've ever eaten. Huge reviews every time I make it!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is the best crabsoup except that there must be a mistake in the amount of Old Bay if you use what the recipe calls for you can't eat it. Start with 1 Teaspoon and add more as needed for your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Oh, Shucks! Well, I'll admit: I actually said the S-word (about 15 times) with every spoonful of a small cup of this delectable soup! I tweaked it by adding a mixture of dry and cream sherries. Try a cheap port as well. If you have a good, woody-sweet sipping wine, it'll work. I doubled the amount called in the recipe. My crab meat was four leftover Chesapeake Bay crabs from Annapolis, steamed with Old Bay. The original Old Bay seasoning is so salty and savory that you should *really* try low-sodium. Old Bay is so robust; this didn't need a pinch more of salt, there was a creamy-spicy-sherry goodness that friggin makes me happy that I have some more left. WOW. From a Marylander, With Pride.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steaksauce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
THIS RECIPE is a true recipe to how Cream of Crab soup is to be. It matches most restaurants and the creaminess is divine. I made some additions (finely chopped celery and carrot and a little cayenne pepper), one switch (I use LOW SODIUM Old Bay), and sherry is definitely to taste. I don't see a reasoning for changing the fat content unless for health reasons, but if the sodium content is an issue, the low sodium Old Bay works like a dream or make your own seafood or creole seasoning without salt and add salt separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
spectacular....YUM !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Excellent recipe. The only thing I changed was the amount of old bay, and I added a little water to thin it out some. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States