Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We just slurped this up like no tomorrow! I did follow some of the other reviewers' advice, and I subbed fat-free 1/2 & 1/2 for the regular. It was obviously a bit thinner in consistency, but had outstanding flavor nevertheless! Maybe if I lose my Holiday weight, I'll treat myself to the full-fat version, then go out for a REALLY long walk! I'll definitely be making this again, though, you can count on that! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grobiegirl1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
We love both the flavor of this soup but also how easy nd it is to make. Truely a 5 star recipe! Others mentioned using less Old Bay, I did as well and it had plenty of flavor for a flovor loving family. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I am from Maryland originally and this is how we do it! Dont be intimidated by the Old Bay the flavor gets mellowed out in all the cream. If you are worried about salt, Old Bay now comes in a "less" salt option as well. Thanks for this little taste of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I have not had better. This compares to the cream of crab you may find served at a top-notch seafood restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Excellent! I've always liked cream of crab soup but never tried to make it before. I tried it earlier this week because my grocery store had lumb crab on sale. All I need to say is I'm headed to the kitchen now to make it again! My hubby and boys (11 & 7yrs old) loved it. Warm french bread and my now famous cream of crab soup is what's for dinner tonight! Thanks for sharing and making me look good!! Oh, and I added shrimp (diced)in it too...superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyThomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Fantastic! I love cream of crab soup and have only found it good in two restaurants. I made it tonight and it was wonderful! We had leftover steamed crabs that my husband picked for the soup. I followed recipe precisely but since I had the steamed crab meat I didn't use all the Old Bay. I added to taste. I think I will allow to simmer longer to get it thick enough but what I served was quite good. My daughter has already asked for the recipe. Will definitely make this again and for company! We live in Maryland and are serious about out steamed crabs! Thanks Karyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Perfection. I followed the directions exactly-- except, like the others, I used about half the Old Bay. It really adds to the flavor without screaming Old Bay, but if you decide to omit, it will definitely need salt. I also used Knorrs Hollandaise, as one reviewer suggested. It was packaged .9 oz instead of 1.25, but I couldn't detect any issues with flavor or consistency. Absolutely loved this and SO easy! Thanks, Karyn!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I hate to give a lower rating to a recipe, but I didn't love this. My guests liked it & were thrilled when I sent home leftovers. My only change was less Old Bay & I still found it too salty. But that said this is a super easy recipe & very, very creamy. If I make it again I will add shredded onion & celery with additional seasonings. That said, I was entertaining "picky" eaters & they really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
My husband is from Maryland and loves Cream of Crab soup. I had my work cut out for me in trying to make it for him. I tried this recipe and it turned out great!! I didn't put as much Old Bay as it called for because I'm not crazy about it, but he added it to his bowl and loved it. He also prefers his soup just a tad thicker than this consistancy ended up, so I added just a little cornstarch. Perfection! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States