Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Excellent and loved how easily and fast it came together. I used half the Old Bay and no celery seed just b/c that's the number one ingredient in Old Bay so I didn't feel like it needed more. I also used 2 1/2 cups fat free half and half and 1 1/2 cups skim milk just b/c that's what I had and it worked just fine. Served with homemade crusty bread (from the book artisan bread in 5 minutes a day - so easy!) and salad and it was a great, filling meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was a great crab soup. It was very rich and super filling. I only used 1.5 tbs of old bay and it was plenty! Everyone in my house loved it, and it is a Christmas eve staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made this the other night and used 2% milk in place of the half-n-half and the whipping cream only because I didn't have any and it was the best! It came out so rich and creamy and the best flavor. I also added shrimp to it. This is the only one I will make from now on. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I wasn't thrilled with this soup recipe. I especially wasn't thrilled that I spent $16 on crab meat and didn't like the recipe. I followed it exactly as this was my first time cooking cream of crab. Maybe my taste buds are just a little different than others. I think it may have been all the old bay and hollondaise sauce...not sure. But thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Hi, everybody! I'm from Ukraine and we don't have hollandaise sauce and I have no idea what OLd Bay is. What could I substitute those with? I mean, it doesn't even say what the ingridients of those are((
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
5 stars for sure! i love this recipe. easy to follow ,great results . everyone i make it for ask for more. we thought the amount of old bay was just fine. keeps us coming back for more . even my kids love it! thanks! great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
GREAT RECIPE! This soup turned out wonderful. I cut down on the Old Bay as did others and I do agree that 3T would be a bit much for my taste. However, this is a recipe that will be used again and again. Thanks Karyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This soup is FANTASTIC! The Old Bay was a little much but still excellent. Just put in as little or as much as you like. I actually put all the ingredients into a crockpot, added 2-3 extra tbsp of flour and let it warm itself and I stirred it occasionly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I'm from Maryland and love trying Cream of Crab soup. After picking the leftover crabs from Labor Day I went with this recipe. It was the Hollandaise sauce that caught my attention. It was excellent and I followed it faithfully. For me and my family too salty due to the old bay so like other posts add it to your desire. Making it again, this time I bought the crab already picked. Thanks Karyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I live in Maryland and order cream of crab at every restaurant I come across. This soup recipe is incredible and was a hit at a recent dinner party. I added a tad of crushed red pepper for preference. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States