Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This soup is FANTASTIC! The Old Bay was a little much but still excellent. Just put in as little or as much as you like. I actually put all the ingredients into a crockpot, added 2-3 extra tbsp of flour and let it warm itself and I stirred it occasionly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I'm from Maryland and love trying Cream of Crab soup. After picking the leftover crabs from Labor Day I went with this recipe. It was the Hollandaise sauce that caught my attention. It was excellent and I followed it faithfully. For me and my family too salty due to the old bay so like other posts add it to your desire. Making it again, this time I bought the crab already picked. Thanks Karyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I live in Maryland and order cream of crab at every restaurant I come across. This soup recipe is incredible and was a hit at a recent dinner party. I added a tad of crushed red pepper for preference. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I lived in DC for a while and fell in love with Legal's cream of crab soup (so good). This is not the same but still good. Very thick but almost too heavy. Lose one star because the constancy was not even. Way, way, way too much old bay. Lose one star because I had to make it twice. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and could not eat it because of the over powering old bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Awesome! At first I cut back on the old bay.. tried 1 tbsp.. needed more.. tried 2, still needed more. Put in all 3.. tiny bit too much. Next time I will do 2.5 tbsp. Very rich and creamy! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I made this today! A very rich, flavorful soup. I think it would be even better in a bread bowl. Easy to make and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
AMAZING! What a great base for a soup, other reviewers were right when they said you could add a lot of different things and make a great soup as long as you keep the base. I added onion and parsley as well as cutting back from 3T of Old Bay to 1.5T, which tasted beautifully. I also added shrimp as my husband lives under the philosophy that more meat is better (there were all suggested left in other reviews). The amount of fat in the cream and half and half was a little daunting, so I used fat free half and half and skim milk instead of whipping cream...it had great flavor and was plenty creamy. One last change. I live in Wisconsin, and sadly could not find any fresh crab. I bought a can of pasterized crab, and it was GREAT. I was worried that it would be fishy. So, have faith midwesterns! You too can make this soup (you just might have to run around to find the canned crab meat). Thank you Karyn821
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Karyn, this soup was soooo easy and so delicious. My husband and I have been trying to find the perfect crab soup recipe and I believe we have found it. Thx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I can't even begin to tell you how great this recipe is!!! The best cream of crab soup I ever tasted, as well as many others whom I have cooked this for. This is my husband favorite all time dish!! I made this for a party and everyone couldn't belive how good it was. The hostess who cooked most of the food was extremely jealous that everyone was raving about the dish I cooked and not any of hers, lol. The only change I made was that I used low-fat half and half and I aslo used half the amount of celery seed it called for because I can't handle spice well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsend, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I haven't made this yet, but it sounds so Yummy, I've never heard of Crab Soup... Tell me is this better served the next day, as most stews and chowders are? thanks, bonney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States