Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Delicious and rich! I agree with many other reviewers about the Old Bay. I cut the amount in half and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Baltimore born & raised so I thought the 3 T of Old Bay was yummy (I even added a sprinkle more.) I prefer my cream of crab thicker so I mixed corn starch with cold milk until dissolved then added to the pot. I repeated that until I reached my desired consistency. The flavor was amazing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
THE best cream o' crab recipe! Hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recipe! I made this for the first time and after reading the reviews and tips. Added the small salad shrimp and about double the sherry. I also cooked some diced onion in butter prior to adding the rest of ingredients. Cutting the Old Bay in half did not give it enough spice so I used about 2 1/2 TBS in mine. We love cream of crab soup and this one is just as good or better than any of our favorite restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
only made this once and OMG this is so good, I just keep wanting to eat it... cant wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katigurl2011

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Delicious! I made two changes only because I did not have the other ingredients. I used Bearnaise Sauce and Marsala cooking wine to replace the Hollandaise Sauce and Sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Delicious! I made this for my family of 5 and we devoured it. Very rich, very creamy and the instructions are perfect. I used 4 cans crab meat and half the old bay. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Fantastic! Served at a covered dish supper and had many raves. Cream of Crab soup should be rich and this recipe had the Midas touch. The hollandaise sauce gave it the extra rich notes. Should have used all of the Old Bay seasonings called for, I used a scant quarter cup when I tripled recipe, but then I am from Maryland and am used to it. And very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
So amazingly delicious! The hollaindaise did add a nice flavor and creamy texture. I did change a few minor things to suit our needs and taste. I had increased the recipe by 1/2 as we had almost 3 lbs of crab meat from our left over colassal crab legs we had for Valentine's Day. With this I used 1 1/2 tbls of the Old Bay, used milk instead of half and half, and ended up having to mix up a bit more butter/flour towards the end to thicken up again. My husband loved it too and he can be picky. I think it even tasted a bit better the next day after the flavors continued to mix. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States