Kartoshnik with Cheese and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I've made this twice now, once by the recipe and once using instant potatoes. Not having heavy whipping cream either time I used milk. Both ways made a good side dish, though I found the instant potatoes actually worked better. Not sure if that was because they were more runny before baking, but they actually were lighter and more airy with a good rise almost like a souffle than using real potatoes. Or perhaps my baking powder by the time I made with potatoes was getting old. Either way, great taste and wonderful way to add variety to a meal instead of just plain potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good. Use your imagination as there are a lot of things that you can add. Mushrooms, ham, BACON!, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Good. I used colby & monterey jack cheese which is what I had on hand, but I'm sure it's much better with the correct cheeses! Sprinkled green onions and extra cheese on top as soon as it came out of the oven. Husband and 3-year-old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Very interesting, I made mine with Turnip & Rutabagas; cheddar, gouda and parmesan cheese. Turned out great. Served it with sour cream and loved the texture. My husband said it had no flavour but I could see the charm in it. Update: I am going to try this with mashed pumpkin next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Ulmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is a unique recipe that basically came out tasting like mashed potatoes egg on top. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't anything special either. If I make it again, I'll probably add some more spices to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe, and it turned out well. For our tastes, however, it was a bit bland. Next time I would add some chives and extra spicing. Other than that, it was a solid recipe with a nice outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
It turned out pretty but tasted terrible. I wonder what I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Delicious! I cooked it along with Russian Eggplant (on this site) and some Russian black bread, great and different vegetarian meal. I added a little more cheese, onions, and salt due to others comments of blandness, and it was quite good. It's a bit eggy, I'd like to try it with either one less egg or one more potato next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBORG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This makes a lot of food and is perfect for a potluck or party at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance Mertz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park River, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I loved it! I put some extra cheese and a little garlic in it and it was wonderful. I cannot wait to make it again. The sour cream was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States