Kartoffel Kloesse (Potato Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
First time ever for me and these were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cochrane, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My mom used to make a version of these with pork roast and sauerkraut when I was little-it was the meal I requested every year for my birthday dinner even as an adult. Unfortunately she got dementia before I got the chance to learn how she perfected the recipe. I followed this recipe as it contained most of the same ingredients she used but my dumplings didn't hold together well, really got mushy and fell apart when I boiled them. Should I have used more flour? They rolled well before boiling. I would love to perfect them to then prepare them for my siblings-any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
we enjoyed these, reminded me of my Oma's. I felt they tasted a bit floury, would cook longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Made this for father's day, followed the recipe exactly. I wouldn't change a thing, it was absolutely delicious. Great Recipe SlimCookins. I had this along with Traditional Sauerbraten http://allrecipes.com/recipe/traditional-sauerbraten/ and Grandma Jeanette's Amazing Red Cabbage allrecipes.com/Recipe/Grandma-Jeanettes-Amazing-German-Red-Cabbage they all complimented each other so well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
These were honestly the best dumplings I've ever had. Following others' suggestions, I did not try it with nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
5 because memories of sauerbraten and KartoffelGlase, as Nan called them, are priceless. I lost her recipe years ago. She made hers larger, about the size of a small potato and they were oblong, about 3 1/2". She also put a crouton in the center and rolled them in browned/ buttered bread crumbs when done. My fondest memories are of slicing them the next day into potato pancakes and frying them. Add apple sauce for breakfast. SOoooo Good. Thanks for this, with the few changes, these were very close to Nan's. I've come to realize that each region of Germany has their particular variation of these. Your reviews would bare that out. Just make and tweak them to your families version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
The receipe was great! I did not make it as good as my "Oma Edelweiss" or my Mama, but for never ever making it...it was very good! My family actually LOVED IT! We made it ...mit Hirsch Fleisch Schnitzel! I sure do miss both my Oma's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
i just got done making a batch of these and my wife and family liked them gotta find a german meat dish to go with it. I am going to make a bunch of them for the next family holiday gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I grew up on a variation of this. Boil potatoes, cool, peel, salt, pepper, nutmeg. Cut potatoes and cube onions. Put through grinder on rough setting adding onion pieces. Add seasoning as you grind. When done mix with eggs and flour. THEN make snowball size balls. Boil a little longer after they rise. One layer per bowl. Best with sauer braten but also good with rouladen though I cheat and add vinegar to my part of the gravy. About two large yellow onions worth of onions. No bread or crumbs. Just grind pieces as you grind the potatoes turning bowl as it comes out of the grinder to dispurse evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Delicious! Not only did my family like them, but my neighbors daughter, who was visiting at the time and very picky, liked them. I served them with Sauerbraten and red cabbage. Yummy!! I added a little more salt so they wouldn't be too bland and cooked them in some of the juice from the sauerbraten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States