Karjalan Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This is a great recipe, very simple to make. After baking I brush them top and bottom with a mix of hot milk and butter to soften them up a little, and to add some extra grease ;) They are super topped traditionally with eggbutter (like egg salad but using butter or margarine instead of mayo). My son LOVES them filled with mashed potatoes instead of rice. Again, extra greasy and salty mashed potatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious. My husband liked them but wished they were softer. I liked the crispy texture of the outside part. I used Spelt instead of Rye because that was what I had on hand, and also only Spelt to mix in instead of regular wheat flour. I would love to make these again. Although they could possibly be described as bland, I loved the taste, because of the contrasting textures and slight saltiness (as opposed to something sweet.) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonny Buckley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I quadrupled this for a large party. I used arborio rice and goat milk. Only used half the recommended amount of milk and the filling was fine. Used a pasta machine to roll out the crust (thanks to a previous poster for that idea.) It's fine to work with rectangular crust dough, no need to have all the excess you have to re-roll working with circles or ovals. Only thing I have to add, and this will be a no-brainer for more experienced cooks: Stir in the water by hand before turning on your mixer. Rye flour is somehow more slippery than wheat and my kitchen was a disaster area because I made that mistake. Rye everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I only managed to make 6 dumplings and had about twice as much cooked rice as I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
We have always dipped the pirakka in a mixture of hot milk and butter after removing from oven. Cover with a tea towel so they will not become hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Karjalan Piirakka were my FAVORITE growing up. with a nice slab of butter on top.. mmmm. My Mummu always made them perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
These are good pies, and I learned to appreciate them during my stay in Finland, but if you don't have that ingrained appreciation, they might come across as a bit bland/boring on their own. For first-time Karjalan-eaters, I'd suggest pairing them up with something more than butter. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Loved this recipe! Thank you! Made me feel like I was back in Finland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Great recipe! Grew up making these with my mom but have never tried them on my own as it always seemed daunting.... Thought I would give this a try and realized it was daunting because we made HUNDREDS at a time! LOL. To keep pirakkas from being too crisp or hard after cooking, brush them lightly with an egg/milk mix immediately after coming out of the oven, front and back, and then leave them under a (clean) towel to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was surprisingly wonderful. After reading the reviews I saw that it is customary in Finland to top it with egg butter (melted butter and diced hard boiled eggs). Seemed weird at first but oh man...it sent it over the top. Loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thanksgiving Leftover Wedge Pies

Baked handheld pies filled with mashed potatoes, turkey, and cranberry sauce.

Fried PB&J Pinchy Pies

See how to make super-simple fried pies filled with peanut butter and jelly.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States