Karen's Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
NICE! This is a very nice recipe for fried green tomatoes. I mixed the sugar, salt, and pepper in a bowl then seasoned the tomatoes. I would have liked to have seen the flour stick better to the tomatoes but it could have been the type tomato I used had a smoother skin. This makes a nice side vegetable for seafood. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Brandilynn7!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Wow- these are delicious! I left out the sugar, and subbed in 1/4 cup of cornmeal for the flour to give it some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I absolutely LOVED these. My first experience with fried green tomatoes. I did coat them in bread crumbs, deep fried them in oil, and sprinkled them with course salt after taking them from the fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Yum! Followed the recipe as is and I wouldn't change a thing. Served with our favorite honey mustard and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Delicious! Just made these. I never used the sugar before, but it was delicious and I think it complimented the tartness of the tomatoes. In fact, it tasted almost like a green apple! I used half-half butter and coconut oil. The coconut oil I think contributed to the added flavor. I will make these again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe says and it was excellent. Some of the tomato slices needed a little salt at the table, depending on how well the original seasoning stuck to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have never been particularly impressed by fried green tomatoes, but I had some green tomatoes left over from my garden after a hard frost and hated to waste them. I found this recipe to be fantastic. My only concern was that duplicating it as written would have produced a dish with far more saturated fat than I was willing to accept (one serving of this side dish would have meant ingesting 50% more than the recommended daily allowance of saturated fat from the American Heart Association, even for healthy adults without heart problems). I realize that this is not a diet dish, but a simple substitution resulted in 1/3 of the saturated fat, 1/2 the cholesterol, and still delicious flavor. I substituted a 50-50 blend of olive oil and Smart Balance Buttery Spread with flaxseed oil, along with a cut from two eggs to one, resulting in a heart-healthy recipe without any apparent loss of flavor. I don't want to sound like a food Nazi, but there simply is no reason to cook the tomatoes in a cup of butter when there are much more healthful alternatives that do not mean giving up anything! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States