Karen's Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have never been particularly impressed by fried green tomatoes, but I had some green tomatoes left over from my garden after a hard frost and hated to waste them. I found this recipe to be fantastic. My only concern was that duplicating it as written would have produced a dish with far more saturated fat than I was willing to accept (one serving of this side dish would have meant ingesting 50% more than the recommended daily allowance of saturated fat from the American Heart Association, even for healthy adults without heart problems). I realize that this is not a diet dish, but a simple substitution resulted in 1/3 of the saturated fat, 1/2 the cholesterol, and still delicious flavor. I substituted a 50-50 blend of olive oil and Smart Balance Buttery Spread with flaxseed oil, along with a cut from two eggs to one, resulting in a heart-healthy recipe without any apparent loss of flavor. I don't want to sound like a food Nazi, but there simply is no reason to cook the tomatoes in a cup of butter when there are much more healthful alternatives that do not mean giving up anything! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe says and it was excellent. Some of the tomato slices needed a little salt at the table, depending on how well the original seasoning stuck to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Delicious! Just made these. I never used the sugar before, but it was delicious and I think it complimented the tartness of the tomatoes. In fact, it tasted almost like a green apple! I used half-half butter and coconut oil. The coconut oil I think contributed to the added flavor. I will make these again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Yum! Followed the recipe as is and I wouldn't change a thing. Served with our favorite honey mustard and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I absolutely LOVED these. My first experience with fried green tomatoes. I did coat them in bread crumbs, deep fried them in oil, and sprinkled them with course salt after taking them from the fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Wow- these are delicious! I left out the sugar, and subbed in 1/4 cup of cornmeal for the flour to give it some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
NICE! This is a very nice recipe for fried green tomatoes. I mixed the sugar, salt, and pepper in a bowl then seasoned the tomatoes. I would have liked to have seen the flour stick better to the tomatoes but it could have been the type tomato I used had a smoother skin. This makes a nice side vegetable for seafood. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Brandilynn7!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States