Karen's First Place Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing this recipe. My husband and I won second place in his fire department's chili cookoff!! I had never made chili in my life! Thank you for a recipe that wasn't too hot, yet had a little kick. Everyone who tried and rated it said "This is how chili is supposed to taste, MEATY!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I also used this recipe the other night for a chili cook off. I won first place!!! I did make some very minor adjustments but it was still Karen's recipe. Thanks so much Karen!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This recipe was a hit at a Halloween party. I took advice and only used half the chili powder and used a little pinch of red pepper. It was awesome. Had enough heat from that and the green chilies. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I didn't get first-came in 3rd :) I changed only a couple things. I left out the salt(personal preference) and added more chili powder, and cayenne pepper. I added a few more tablespoons of corn bread mix. Even though I only came in 3rd, people kept commenting that the thickness was great. Next time, I want to experiment a little more-maybe with other beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
this is the best chili i have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I entered a contest with 9 chili's and it took 9th place. My suggestion would be omit the salt if you use the pork or add it only to tast it was the only thing I could taste was the salt. I believe the chili powder could also be reduced because the receipe only makes 8 servings so 9 Tablespoons is to much which adds to the salt taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
We liked it less than some milder recipes, I enjoyed it with cheddar and sour cream over noodles, but my kids found it too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEliz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Sooo Good... The only changes I made were only 3 tsp of chili powder and i add 1 tsp of brown sugar (brown sugar add a savory element).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guntersville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This recipe calls for WAY TOO MUCH CHILI POWDER AND SALT. I was thoughtful enough to only put 6 T chili powder, I wish I had been more thoughtful with the salt. I put 1 Tablespoon salt and we couldn't eat the chile! I will try the recipe again w/ 1 tsp salt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Very,very good recipe. I added 1 red bell pepper, 1 green bell pepper, and 2 habanero peppers, and 4 jalapeno peppers as well as increasing the red pepper to 1 TBS. Also added 1 quart of water. We took this to a neighborhood chili cookoff, and it was the unanimous winner. The heat was not overwhelming, but rather an afterburn. A bit too hot for timid eaters, but for the spicy food fans, it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States