Karen's First Place Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing this recipe. My husband and I won second place in his fire department's chili cookoff!! I had never made chili in my life! Thank you for a recipe that wasn't too hot, yet had a little kick. Everyone who tried and rated it said "This is how chili is supposed to taste, MEATY!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I also used this recipe the other night for a chili cook off. I won first place!!! I did make some very minor adjustments but it was still Karen's recipe. Thanks so much Karen!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This recipe was a hit at a Halloween party. I took advice and only used half the chili powder and used a little pinch of red pepper. It was awesome. Had enough heat from that and the green chilies. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I didn't get first-came in 3rd :) I changed only a couple things. I left out the salt(personal preference) and added more chili powder, and cayenne pepper. I added a few more tablespoons of corn bread mix. Even though I only came in 3rd, people kept commenting that the thickness was great. Next time, I want to experiment a little more-maybe with other beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
this is the best chili i have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I entered a contest with 9 chili's and it took 9th place. My suggestion would be omit the salt if you use the pork or add it only to tast it was the only thing I could taste was the salt. I believe the chili powder could also be reduced because the receipe only makes 8 servings so 9 Tablespoons is to much which adds to the salt taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
We liked it less than some milder recipes, I enjoyed it with cheddar and sour cream over noodles, but my kids found it too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEliz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Sooo Good... The only changes I made were only 3 tsp of chili powder and i add 1 tsp of brown sugar (brown sugar add a savory element).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guntersville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This recipe calls for WAY TOO MUCH CHILI POWDER AND SALT. I was thoughtful enough to only put 6 T chili powder, I wish I had been more thoughtful with the salt. I put 1 Tablespoon salt and we couldn't eat the chile! I will try the recipe again w/ 1 tsp salt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Very,very good recipe. I added 1 red bell pepper, 1 green bell pepper, and 2 habanero peppers, and 4 jalapeno peppers as well as increasing the red pepper to 1 TBS. Also added 1 quart of water. We took this to a neighborhood chili cookoff, and it was the unanimous winner. The heat was not overwhelming, but rather an afterburn. A bit too hot for timid eaters, but for the spicy food fans, it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States