Karen A's Chocolate Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Oh My! THIS IS GOOD! Easy also! I used instant pudding (2 small pkgs) & the rest of the recipe as written. I will be trying differant mixes, puddings & flavors of chips in the future! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I have made this several times now. I sent some with my husband to work, I now have his co workers asking when I will send another one in!!! The best cake ever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
If you're looking for something REALLY quick and easy to satisfy a chocolate craving- this is it. I follwed the recipe as listed (used Duncan Hines Devils food cake mix and non-instant chocolate pudding). I did however add 1/2 cup chopped pecans in the mix just because I love nuts in brownies, which this cake resembles. Next time I may put 1/2 the chocolate chips in the batter misx, and 1/2 on top just to spread the chocolate love throughout the cake more. It is very rich and I HAD to have milk with it to really make it. It would be great too served warm with a scoop of ice cream or fresh whipped cream. I will make again when I want chocolate cake, but not a lot of fussy mixing and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I needed a snack for kiddos today and did an ingredient search, this recipe came up. However I did not have chocolate anything (very depresing, I know!) I did however have a white cake mix and lemon pudding! I didn't have any chips either so just made it without and drizzled a little lemon frosting glaze on top. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
It could be because of the brand of cake mix I used (duncan hines, I think) but I did not care for this. Even my teenage boys said it just isn't normal. The cake turned out overly chewy and without enough chocolate flavor. The texture was just downright weird. Nope, don't do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
What do you do when you realize you have to make a birthday cake for a work party the next day and you've been cleaning all day and have no energy to go to the store? You raid your pantry and you make this cake! So good, so easy, and did I mention it was good?? Followed it exactly and bam - I had a cake that made my co-workers drool AND ask for the recipe. Totally awesome heated up just a bit with some ice cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Try using peanut butter morsels instead of semi sweet chocolate chips - fabulous! I think I may have let the pudding get a little to thick before adding the cake mix. Will watch more closely for next time and that will be soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very good. Also try this with vanilla pudding, white or yellow cake mix and white chocolate chips. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Patton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this and took it to a potluck. It was the first dessert to be devoured! Now my family requests it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States