Karen A's Chocolate Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I needed a snack for kiddos today and did an ingredient search, this recipe came up. However I did not have chocolate anything (very depresing, I know!) I did however have a white cake mix and lemon pudding! I didn't have any chips either so just made it without and drizzled a little lemon frosting glaze on top. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
It could be because of the brand of cake mix I used (duncan hines, I think) but I did not care for this. Even my teenage boys said it just isn't normal. The cake turned out overly chewy and without enough chocolate flavor. The texture was just downright weird. Nope, don't do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
What do you do when you realize you have to make a birthday cake for a work party the next day and you've been cleaning all day and have no energy to go to the store? You raid your pantry and you make this cake! So good, so easy, and did I mention it was good?? Followed it exactly and bam - I had a cake that made my co-workers drool AND ask for the recipe. Totally awesome heated up just a bit with some ice cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Try using peanut butter morsels instead of semi sweet chocolate chips - fabulous! I think I may have let the pudding get a little to thick before adding the cake mix. Will watch more closely for next time and that will be soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very good. Also try this with vanilla pudding, white or yellow cake mix and white chocolate chips. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Patton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this and took it to a potluck. It was the first dessert to be devoured! Now my family requests it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This came out great! I wasn't sure because half the reviews said no, and half said yes. But my extended family loved it - none left. Served it warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I've made this cake once before, following the recipe exactly, and it was a hit! Now that it's close to Christmas, I wanted to change it slightly, so instead of semisweet chocolate chips, I used Andes Mint baking chips. It came out DELICIOUS! To anyone who thinks this cake is "too" chocolatey (not that I understand that anyway), the mint flavor combines to make a perfectly chocolate and perfectly minty cake. I'm afraid I might eat the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly-Very Good! It's even better served warm-the chocolate gets all gooey! A solid tasty, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States