Karen A's Chocolate Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was ok at best. I completely agree with the review that it was bland, and needed an icing instead of just chocolate chips on top. I 100% agree that with the expense of the mix, pudding, and chocolate chips, it wasn't worth it. I'll never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I didn't have chocolate pudding or chocolate cake mix, so I used a white cake with lemon pudding and then put a lemon glaze over the top. It was AWESOME!!!!!!! We loved it and can't wait to try the real recipe with the chocolate. Definitely needs vanilla ice cream to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I REALLY WASNT SURE ABOUT THIS ONE BECAUSE OF HOW EASY IT WAS,BUT LET ME TELL YOU IT WAS GREAT.I WAS OUT OF THE CHOCOLATE CHIPS BUT I DIDNT MISS THEM.THE CAKE WAS EXTREMELY MOIST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Made this cake on several occasions and always recieved a many compliments. Try different types of chips on top, it is GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I have made this recipe for years. Got it from my mother, who got it from her sister, who got it from her mother-in-law. It's definitely been passed around. I have found that the finished quality is directly related to the kind of cake mix used. If I use the cheapest cake mix I can find ... it tastes that way. However, if I use a good quality cake mix such as Duncan Hines Devil's Food cake mix ... it is oh so yummy. Also, it cannot be a mix with pudding already in the mix. Those who have been unhappy with this cake, try it again with a good quality cake mix (if you didn't already) and see if you like it better. I give this recipe 4 stars, only because it can be messed up. A truly 5 star recipe is one that turns out great so matter what the cook does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I have been making this cake for several years and each time it gets rave reviews. It's so easy to make and is chocolatey delicious!! Thanks Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
Well - I didn't have the right flavors of cake mix/pudding/chips - but guess what?? - I used "Cherry Chip" cake mix, Hershey's Rasberry chips, and Vanilla pudding mix (non-instant)...and it came out GRRRRRRREAT!!!! Very rich and dense (almost like a bread pudding texture) - great hot with vanilla ice cream! (p.s. - I used Whole Milk!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This was soooooooooo rich! Satisfies ANY chocolate emergency or craving!!! Eater BEWARE!......eat only a small portion or you will be in a state of chocolate shock! Best when eaten with a glob of french vanilla ice cream. YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This recipe was just OK. The cake itself was kind of bland. Maybe it needed an icing instead of just chocolate chips on top. With the expense of the mix, pudding, and chocolate chips, it doesn't seem worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
So rich, but so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States